Skip to main content

Alumnae lauded at 28th Annual Mass & Alumni Awards Ceremony

Amy Pelleg (second from left), Drs. Jennifer Yost, Angela Coladonato, and Michele Ballister received special awards for their distinguished achievements from Associate Dean Dr. Lesley Perry (left). They are seen here with University President Rev. Peter Donohue, OSA who presided at the Mass on April 29, 2017.

The achievements of four distinguished alumnae were celebrated on April 29 during the College of Nursing’s 28th Annual Mass and Alumni Awards Ceremony, held in the St. Thomas of Villanova Church. The Rev. Peter M. Donohue, OSA, University president, presided. Lesley Perry, PhD, RN, associate dean, bestowed the College’s highest award, the Medallion to:

•    Angela R. Coladonato ’77 BSN, DNP: the Medallion for Excellence in the Administration of Health Care Services. She is senior vice president and chief nursing officer for The Chester County Hospital in West Chester, Pa.

•    Amy Pelleg ’96 MSN: the Medallion for Distinguished Leadership in Nursing Practice. She is Nurse Manager, ICU, Bryn Mawr Hospital.   

•    Michele “Micki” Ballister ’08 MSN, ’13 DNP: the Medallion for Excellence in Nursing Education. She is assistant professor, Division of Anesthesia for Nurses at the Medical University of South Carolina in Charleston.

Dr. Perry also recognized the achievements of Jennifer Yost ’00 BSN, PhD, RN with the College’s Emerging Scholar Award. As an assistant professor, School of Nursing, McMaster University, Hamilton, Ontario, Dr. Yost focuses her research on knowledge translation and decision making.

Special recognition was given to Professor Mary Ann Cantrell ’89 MSN, PhD, RN, CNE, FAAN  for 25 years of service to the College as well as past nursing parents Marianne and Richard J. Kreider. He is a 1983 alumnus of the Villanova School of Business, the inaugural Chairperson of the College’s Board of Consultors, loyal donor and current Chair of the College of Nursing Campaign Committee. He also serves on serves on Villanova’s Campaign Executive Committee.