The University's Web site represents Villanova University to prospective students, alumni, the general public and the on campus community. To that end its content and appearance should adhere to professional standards. A University template is provided within the AEM system to provide common look and feel and common navigation throughout Villanova University's site. Authors are responsible for editing the content of and maintaining their sites.
Dynamic information (course enrollment, tuition, directory information, etc.) should be retrieved from the institution's operational data base or data warehouse. When time sensitive data is published, the time frame should be stated for which the data applies.
Certain content on the University's Web site is required to be secure. Secure web sites require visitors to the page to authenticate using their Villanova username and password. Authors should review the informaiton below as a guideline to determine if their site should be secure. UNIT may also contact Web site Authors to request they secure their Web site within AEM/CQ.
Level 1: Public Information (Information that is not harmful and can remain public and unsecured).
Examples: General information, course catalogs, faculty and staff information, information about academic departments and programs.
Level 2: Villanova University general information (Information that should be kept confidential and secure but would not cause harm).
Examples: Maps, buildings, Villanova community specific information.
Level 3: Villanova University specific information (Information that needs to be confidential and secured).
Examples: Financial information, student information, information relating the use of university systems and software intended for employees.
If you have any questions about securing your webpages, please contact UNIT @ 610-519-7777.
This applies to all personal homepages of users at Villanova University.
The personal homepage of a faculty and staff member will be available for the duration of the individual’s account. The homepage will be purged and deleted when the users account is removed from the system. The personal homepage of a student will be available for one semester after their last enrolled and active semester. See Email Policy for additional details regarding account lifecycle.