Sergey Nersesov, PhD, and Hashem Ashrafiuon, PhD, in the lab with autonomous vehicles.

The Department of Mechanical Engineering is a dynamic scholarly community of undergraduate and graduate students and faculty immersed in mechanics and materials, thermal fluid systems, and dynamics and controls.

Our highly-acclaimed professors excel in both the classroom and laboratory in specialties including biomechanics, mechatronics, nanomaterials, renewable energy and more.

At a Glance

  • 23 Full-time faculty members
  • 310 Undergraduates (32% female)
  • 57 Master's students
  • 42 PhD students

All students enjoy small class sizes, practical, hands-on experiences and the attention of professors who are fully committed to your success.



The Mechanical Engineering Department is associated with three of the College’s six research centers:

Center for Nonlinear Dynamics and Control (CENDAC)

CENDAC is distinguished by its strong interdisciplinary teams working on real-world applications—including security, mobility and healthcare—of nonlinear dynamic systems and control theory.

The Center for Energy-Smart Electronic Systems (ES2)

A National Science Foundation Industry/University Cooperative Research Center, ES2 develops methodologies, tools and systems to maximize energy efficiency for the operation of data centers.

Villanova Center for Analytics of Dynamic Systems (VCADS)

VCADS develops new tools and techniques for analytics of dynamic systems with applications in engineering, medicine and finance.


Students at all levels are encouraged to pursue research opportunities with Mechanical Engineering faculty in the areas of:

  • Novel nanomaterials
  • Data center efficiency
  • Dynamic control of unmanned vehicles
  • Swarm robotics
  • Advanced energy storage
  • Biomimetic materials



Dr. Alfonso Ortega

Dr. Alfonso Ortega Named to SEMI-THERM Thermal Hall of Fame

The lifetime achievement award, presented during the 39th annual IEEE Semiconductor Thermal Measurement, Modeling and Management Symposium (SEMI-THERM), recognizes individuals who have made significant contributions to the development and commercialization of thermal management technologies.

Dr. C. Nataraj

Dr. C. Nataraj Receives $1 Million Grant from Office of Naval Research

The four-and-a-half-year award will allow the professor of Mechanical Engineering to develop and improve dynamic systems on Navy ships.

Dr. Sylvie Lorente

Associate Dean Sylvie Lorente Joins Governing Body of European Research Council

As one of 22 distinguished members of the ERC’s Scientific Council, Dr. Lorente will help set the scientific strategy for the organization, which provides funding for groundbreaking research conducted within the European Union.