The purpose of the External Advisory Committee is to provide guidance on the many facets of mechanical engineering, including technology, education and training, employment, and outcomes assessment. In particular, the committee will meet each year in the fall and spring semesters to:

  • discuss current directions in ME and ME technology.
  • provide suggestions and guidance for new programs and course offerings.
  • address new methods for course and program delivery.
  • identify sources of potential employment for graduates.
  • provide assessment and feedback to the department on the level of quality of the graduates

The members of the External Advisory Committee are engineers from academia as well as industry and government agencies, and they normally serve a three-year term. Longer terms are allowed and are discussed on an individual basis.

Updated 5/10/2022



Mr. Andrew Allen
Chief Executive Officer
Aerodyne Industries LLC
8910 Astronaut Boulevard
Cape Canaveral, FL 32920

Mr. Michael Gillin
Plant Manager
Limerick Generating Station
3146 Sanatoga Road
Pottstown, PA 19464

Mr. Steven Benvenuto
Prime Test Automation
1101 Holland Dr., Ste. 7
Boca Raton, FL 33487

Mr. Sudhakar Goverdhanam
Entrepreneur & Investor
231 Twinings Lane
Wayne, PA 19087

Ms. Coleen Burke-Finney
Sr. Director, Strategy & Market Development
Boeing International
The Boeing Company
2201 Seal Beach Blvd.
MC 110-SB42
Seal Beach, CA 90740-5603

Mr. James P. Hearn
Synthes USA Products, LLC
1301 Goshen Parkway
West Chester, PA 19380

Mr. Thomas Cassin
Materials Sciences Corporation
135 Rock Road
Horsham, PA 19044

Dr. Kristi L. Kiick
Department of Biomedical Engineering
590 Avenue 1743, Room 413
Ammon Pinizzotto Biopharmaceutical Innovation Center
Newark, DE 19713

Ms. Mary Colliton
Product Manager
Globus Medical Inc.
2560 General Armistead Ave
Audubon, PA 19403

Dr. Stephen Mastro
Deputy Chief Technology Officer, Code 00T
Naval Surface Warfare Center, Philadelphia Division
1000 Kitty Hawk Ave. (Bldg 77L)
Philadelphia, PA 19112

Ms. Ashley Ferguson
Deputy Systems Engineering Manager
Naval Surface Warfare Center, Carderock Division, U.S.Navy
5001 S Broad Street
Philadelphia, PA 19112

Mr. Patrick Smith
Global Machinery Manager
Air Products and Chemicals
Trexlertown, PA

Mr. James Folgia
Construction Executive
Turner Construction
685 Route 202
Bridgewater, NJ 08807

Mr. Steven J. Spear
The Boeing Company
P.O. Box 16858 MC P23-15
Philadelphia, PA 18914

Ms. JoAnn M. Garbin
Director of Innovation
Microsoft Datacenter Advanced Development
Redmond, WA

Mr. Tom Sullivan
Senior Project Manager
R&R Mechanical, Inc.
2902 Bladensburg Rd. NE
Washington, DC  20018

Mr. Frank J. Genova III
Co-founder / Chief Operating and Financial Officer
Convergent Energy + Power LP
Times Square Tower, 35th Floor
New York, NY 10036

Mr. Manny Torres
Chief Scientist and Senior Fellow
Lockheed Martin
230 Mall Boulevard
King of Prussia, PA 19406