Villanova Engineering Celebrates 46th Engineering Alumni Society Awards

The Villanova University College of Engineering honored 11 outstanding alumni Thursday, March 30, at the 46th Engineering Alumni Society Awards Dinner. Held at the Inn at Villanova University, the awards recognized alumni for their professional accomplishments, service to society, and commitment to the College and its mission.

Following a welcome by Michele Marcolongo, PhD, PE, the Drosdick Endowed Dean of Engineering, the evening began with reflections and an invocation by the Rev. Peter M. Donohue, OSA, PhD, president of Villanova University. Board member Vincent DeFlavia ’95 CE, ’05 MTE, later offered remarks on behalf of the Engineering Alumni Society.

Fr. Peter
Rev. Peter M. Donohue
Dean Michele Marcolongo
Dean Michele Marcolongo

Joining Dean Marcolongo in presenting the evening’s first honors—the Meritorious Service and Professional Achievement awards—were the College’s department chairs: Chris Kitchens, PhD, of Chemical and Biological Engineering; Eric Musselman, PhD, of Civil and Environmental Engineering; Bijan Mobasseri, PhD, of Electrical and Computer Engineering; and Sridhar Santhanam, PhD, of Mechanical Engineering. Receiving the Meritorious Service Award were George Diehl ’70 ChE, Adam Beckmann ’10 CE, ’11 MSCE, Donald Emery, MD, ’71 EE, and Andrew Packer ’10 ME, ’13 MSSE. The Professional Achievement Award was presented to Abigail Angelico ’13 ChE, ’20 MBA, Stephen Burgo ’95 CE, ’99 MSCE, and Brian Di Donato ’88 ME.

The evening’s major awards were those created in honor of the College of Engineering’s past deans:

The Gary A. Gabriele Memorial Award recognizes an alum who has promoted equity in the field of engineering. The 2023 recipient of the Gary A. Gabriele Award was Sarah Arscott ’09 ME, an engagement manager in the Implementation and Operations Practice at McKinsey & Co., a global consulting firm.

The John J. Gallen Memorial Award, which was presented by the late dean’s grandson, Kevin Gallen ’00 ME, recognizes the achievements of those whose technical efforts yield advances in the engineering profession. The 2023 recipient was Mohammad Elahinia, PhD, ’01 MSME, a University Distinguished Professor of Engineering and chair of the Mechanical, Industrial and Manufacturing Engineering Department at the University of Toledo.

The Carl T. Humphrey Memorial Award recognizes the professional achievements of an alum who earned a master’s degree from the College more than five years ago. The 2023 recipient was Arlene Joyner ’95 MSChE, the deputy assistant secretary and director of industrial base management and supply chain for the Administration for Strategic Preparedness and Response within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

The J. Stanley Morehouse Memorial Award is presented for outstanding leadership at the highest level. The 2023 recipient was Andrew M. Allen ’77 ME, a retired U.S. Marine Corps lieutenant colonel and former NASA astronaut who has logged more than 900 hours in space. Allen, who was able to attend the awards dinner, offered his thanks and appreciation through a video recording that was played during the event.

2023 EAS Awards Dinner
2023 EAS Awards Dinner


Elizabeth Slocum
Director, Communication and Marketing