GRADUATE ENGINEERING CALENDAR

Wednesday, June 2

Classes begin

Tuesday, June 8

Last day for late registration and for dropping and/or adding courses. Refund Schedule

Tuesday, June 15

September Graduation Deadline – Last day to apply in the myNOVA portal for September graduation

Friday, July 2

Last day to submit Application for Ph.D. Qualifying Examinations for exams held second week of Fall semester

Monday, July 5

Holiday – no classes (4th of July observed)

Tuesday, July 20

Last day for withdrawing from courses or changing from credit to audit

Monday, August 2

--Final examinations will be held on August 2 or the last scheduled class day

--Thesis/Dissertation Final Copy Deadline.

All Grade Change Forms associated with Thesis/Dissertation must be submitted AND Advisor Approval Form must be submitted to Graduate Programs Office (CEER 309) for those expecting to complete degree requirements by the end of the Summer term.  (Students must then post online.)

See PhD Program and Thesis tabs here for Advisor Approval Form (MS only) and Instructions to Upload to ProQuest.

Friday, August 6

Final Grades Due (12:00 noon)

Wednesday, August 25

myNOVA portal opens for May graduation applications.  Please consult graduation page for details (closes Jan. 31)

Monday, September 6

Last day for “N” grade conversion to be received by Registrar (Summer 2021 semester)

In any fall semester where the University calendar does not naturally include a total of 14 weekly class meetings, plus a final exam period, the instructor is expected to schedule an additional class meeting time.

Monday, August 23

Classes begin

Sunday, August 29

Last day for late registration and for dropping and/or adding courses

Refund Schedule

Wednesday, September 1

Ph.D. Math Qualifying Examination

Friday, September 3

Ph.D. Discipline Specific Qualifying Examination

Monday, September 6

Labor Day - No classes

Wednesday, September 15

December Graduation Application - Last day to apply in the myNOVA portal for December graduation

Monday, October 11

Semester Recess

Monday, October 18

Classes Resume

Wednesday, November 10

Last day for Authorized Withdrawal without Academic Penalty (WX)

Wednesday, November 24

Thanksgiving Recess

Monday, November 29

Classes Resume

Friday, November 12

Last day to submit Application for Ph.D. Qualifying Examinations for exams held second week of Spring semester

Thursday, December 9

Final day of classes

December 13-17 (M-F)

Final Examinations

Monday, December 13

--Thesis/Dissertation Final Copy Deadline.

All Grade Changes associated with Thesis/Dissertation must be submitted AND Advisor Approval Form must be submitted to Graduate Programs Office (CEER 309) for those expecting to complete degree requirements by the end of the Fall semester.  (Students must then post online.)

See PhD Program and Thesis tabs here for Advisor Approval Form (MS only) and Instructions to Upload to ProQuest.

Monday, December 20

Final Grades Due Fall 2021 Semester (12:00 Noon)

TBD

Last day for submission of work to remove “N” grade (Fall 2021 Semester)

TBD

Last day for “N” grade conversion to be received by Registrar (Fall 2021 Semester)      

In any Spring semester where the University calendar does not naturally include a total of 14 weekly class meetings, plus a final exam period, the instructor is expected to schedule an additional class meeting time.

Monday, January 10

Classes begin

Sunday, January  16

Last day for late registration and for dropping and/or adding courses
Refund Schedule

Monday, January  17

Martin Luther King Day – No Classes

Wednesday, January  19

Ph.D. Math Qualifying Examination

Friday, January  21

Ph.D. Discipline Specific Qualifying Examination

Tuesday, February 1

myNOVA portal opens for September graduation applications 
Please consult Commencement Information under Graduation TAB here for details (Closes June 15)

Tuesday, February 15

May Graduation Deadline - Last day to apply in the myNOVA portal for May graduation.

Monday, February 28

Semester Recess

Tuesday, March 1

myNOVA portal opens for December graduation applications   
Please consult Commencement Information under Graduation TAB here for details (Closes Sept 15)

Monday, March 7 Classes Resume

Wednesday, March 30

Last day for Authorized Withdrawal without Academic Penalty (WX)

Thursday, April 14

Easter Recess

Tuesday, April 19

Classes Resume

Monday, April 25

Thesis/Dissertation Final Copy Deadline
All Grade Change Forms associated with Thesis/Dissertation must be electronically submitted AND Advisor Approval Form must be submitted to Graduate Programs Office (CEER 309) for those expecting to complete degree requirements by the end of the Spring Semester.  (Students must then post online.)
See PhD Program and Thesis TABS here for Advisor Approval Form (MS only) and Instructions to Upload to ProQuest.

Thursday, April 28

Final day of classes

Saturday, April. 30 – Friday, May 6

Final Examinations

Thursday, May 9

Final Grades Due Spring 2022 Semester (12 noon)

TBD  

Graduate Awards Reception

Saturday, May 14

Commencement and Baccalaureate Mass

TBD

Last day for submission of work to remove “N” grade (Spring 2022 Semester).

TBD

Last day for “N” grade conversion to be received by Registrar (Spring 2022 Semester)