The Lafayette Award

Through the support of a generous donor, the Department of Philosophy is pleased to offer the Lafayette Award, named in honor of a beloved residence that hosted many lively philosophy discussions. This award recognizes an undergraduate student whose work bridges the theoretical components of philosophy with the practical. First generation college students who are juniors or seniors may apply for the award. Nominations, including self-nominations, are welcome. Please use the online form to nominate a student. All nominees will be invited to submit a brief statement (500 words or less) about how Philosophy is active in their lives (bridging the theoretical and the practical). The award consists of a plaque and a monetary prize of $500. Up to two awards are given each year.

Current Recipients:

Allison Bajada - spring 2023

Ziyuan Lin - spring 2021

Erica Mora - spring 2021

Ariana M. Ramos - spring 2020

Darrel J. Suarez-White - spring 2020

Allison Garippa - spring 2019


The Helen S. Lang History of Philosophy Award

In recognition of her ability to inspire students in the study of the history of philosophy, the Department of Philosophy is pleased to offer the Helen S. Lang History of Philosophy Award. This award recognizes an exceptional undergraduate philosophy student who has demonstrated excellence in the study of the history of philosophy broadly construed, and whose work demonstrates intellectual excellence and passion. Only graduating senior philosophy majors are eligible for the award. To be considered for the award, students must complete the Department assessment portfolio. Overall GPA requirement 3.0 or higher; GPA within the major will normally be 3.5 or higher. Any faculty member in the Department may nominate a student for the award. Nominees should submit two papers that best reflect their work in a history of philosophy course taken at Villanova as well as a one-page double-spaced (approximately 250 words) statement about their interests in and work in the history of philosophy. The award consists of a plaque and monetary prize of $500. This award is made possible through the generous support of the Lang family.

Current Recipient:

Liam Woods - spring 2023

John Ejzak - spring 2021

Brett R. Schratz - spring 2020

James Benecke - spring 2019

Department of Philosophy
Villanova University, SAC 108
800 Lancaster Avenue
Villanova, PA 19085

John Carvalho PhD, Chairperson

Alexandra Penkalskyj 610-519-4690    Senior Administrative Assistant

Julie Klein, PhD, Graduate Program Director

Terry DiMartino 610-519-8997 Graduate Program Coordinator