Two graduates smile at commencement.

The Medallion for Academic Excellence Awards

The Medallion for Academic Excellence is an annual award given to recognize the accomplishments of select graduates. Department Chairs and faculty consider criteria including cumulative grade point average, excellence in research, academic creativity and demonstrated commitment to the values of a liberal arts education. Academic departments have named their medallion for a luminary from the past, or after someone who has deeply affected the discipline or for an outstanding person who helped to shape the course of study at Villanova University.

The Damas-Senghor-Césaire Award; Africana Studies

The Abd Al-Qadir Al-Jazairi Medallion; Arab and Islamic Studies

The Edward F. Jenkins, OSA, Award; Founder of Villanova’s Astronomy Department; Astrophysics and Planetary Science

The Rosalind Franklin Award; Noted DNA Crystallographer; Biochemistry

The John M. Mcclain Award; Outstanding Educator and Administrator in Biology; Biology

The G.N. Quam Award; Professor and Innovator in Safety Research in Chemistry; Chemistry

The Howard A. Grelis, OSA, Award; Outstanding Educator and Classical Scholar; Classical Studies

The Medallion of Excellence Award In Cognitive and Behavioral Neuroscience; Cognitive and Behavioral Neuroscience

The Edward R. Murrow Award; Distinguished Broadcast Journalist; Communication

The James J. Markham Award; Founder of the Comprehensive Science Program; Comprehensive Science

The Robert E. Beck Medallion; Respected Professor and Founding Chair; Computing Sciences

The Edwin Sutherland Award; Father of Modern Criminology; Criminology

The John Maynard Keynes Award; Founder of Modern Macro-Economic Theory; Economics

The Joseph A. Burns, OSA, Award; Beloved Professor; Education

The Edward Mcgrath Award; Esteemed Professor in Literature; English

The Rachel Carson Award; Founder of the Contemporary Environmental Movement; Environmental Science

The Rev. Joseph J. Gildea, OSA, Award; Eminent Scholar in Medieval French; French and Francophone Studies

The Alexander Von Humboldt Award; Early Geographer and Scientist; Geography

The Cosmas Award; Cosmas Indicopluestes—“Cosmas the Indian Ocean Traveler”—A Sixth-Century Egyptian Monk; Global Interdisciplinary Studies

The Christopher Dawson Award; Renowned Historian of Religion and Culture

The Karol Wojtyla Award; Priest, Pope, Poet and Defender of Human Dignity; Humanities

The Dante Alighieri Award; Poet, Mystic, and Philosopher; Italian

Medallion Of Excellence Award In Latin American Studies; Latin American Studies

The Emil Amelotti Award; Founder of Villanova’s Mathematics Department, Mathematics

The Gustavo Gutiérrez, Op Award; Peace and Justice Education

The Robert Russell, OSA, Award; Philosophy

The William Driscoll Award; Founder of Villanova’s Physics Department; Physics

The Fritz Nova Award; Respected Professor of Political Science; Political Science

The Bernard L. Bonniwell Award; Innovative Educator and First Chair of the Department; Psychology

The Alexander Pushkin Award; Russian Studies

The John E. Hughes Award; Founder of Villanova’s Sociology Department; Sociology

The Teresa Of Avila Award; Saint, Mystic Poet, Carmelite Nun, and Doctor of the Church; Spanish


Phi Beta Kappa Honors Society

Phi Beta Kappa (ΦBK) is a National Honors Fraternity for Colleges of Liberal Arts and Sciences. It was founded at the College of William and Mary in 1776. Since that time, its rigorous and comprehensive standards have made election to it a premier sign of excellence. The Sigma of Pennsylvania Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa was created at the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences at Villanova in April 1986.

The Phi Beta Kappa standards reflect the highest ideals of liberal education at Villanova—education that is concerned with values and facts, as well as wisdom and knowledge; education that seeks freedom from ignorance, alienation, and inhumanity; that values intellectual integrity and tolerance over expediency, and breadth of scholarly achievement over specialized expertise. Juniors and seniors who are candidates for a degree in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, whose academic achievements reflect the goals of Phi Beta Kappa, and who meet specific criteria shall be eligible for consideration for election to Phi Beta Kappa.

Stephanie Agresti ’21 CLAS

Amanda Atkinson ’21 CLAS

Natalie Bak ’21 CLAS

Chloe Benson ’21 CLAS

Austin Bergstresser ’21 CLAS

Erin Bogacki ’21 CLAS

Christopher Braganca ’21 CLAS

Crystal Brau ’21 CLAS

Catherine Brennan ’21 CLAS

Lilian Bui ’21 CLAS

Robert Bulka ’21 CLAS

Megan Burke ’21 CLAS

Declan Carolan ’21 CLAS

Michelle Charles ’21 CLAS

Kathleen Connor ’21 CLAS

Juliana Cosenza ’21 CLAS

Emily Cox ’21 CLAS

Michael Creighton ’21 CLAS

Julianna Cresti ’21 CLAS

Lana Davidoff ’21 CLAS

Samantha DeCarlo ’21 CLAS

Yeryn Do ’21 CLAS

Andrew Donofrio ’21 CLAS

Rylie Eisenhardt ’21 CLAS

Michelle Ferrer ’21 CLAS

Katherine Garmer ’21 CLAS

Abigail Gehsmann ’21 CLAS

Emily Gelormino ’21 CLAS

Corinne Gillenwater ’21 CLAS

Alexander Gustafson ’21 CLAS

Amira Guy ’21 CLAS

Connor Hayes ’21 CLAS

Makenna Higgins ’21 CLAS

Chloe Hillson ’21 CLAS

Rayann Jaryszak ’21 CLAS

Moira Jaslar ’21 CLAS

Tyler Kline ’21 CLAS

Corey Kuipers ’21 CLAS

Patrick LaBella ’21 CLAS

Grace Lange ’21 CLAS

Annelise Laughlin ’21 CLAS

Elizabeth Lyons ’21 CLAS

Michael Mackanic ’21 CLAS

Abramo Manfredonia ’21 CLAS

Alexandra Marasa ’21 CLAS

Julia Mills ’21 CLAS

McKenzie Mix ’21 CLAS

Kaitlyn Naughton ’21 CLAS

Derek Nolan ’21 CLAS

Casey O’Donnell ’21 CLAS

Katelynn O’Donnell ’21 CLAS

Francis Ochman ’21 CLAS

Zachary Ornstein ’21 CLAS

Christian Ostrowski ’21 CLAS

Kaela Panicucci ’21 CLAS

Shivani Patel ’21 CLAS

Alexandra Penzi ’21 CLAS

Michelle Phillippi ’21 CLAS

Ianna Pirozzi ’21 CLAS

Matthew Planchon ’21 CLAS

Allison Porzio ’21 CLAS

Kayleigh Purcell ’21 CLAS

Jack Riedl ’21 CLAS

Lauren Sage ’21 CLAS

Jessica Sardina ’21 CLAS

Stephen Scheidly ’21 CLAS

Victoria Schmidt ’21 CLAS

Alexa Schoeneborn ’21 CLAS

Jacquelyn Solomon ’21 CLA

Shiyu Su ’21 CLAS

Madalyn Sullivan ’21 CLAS

Lauren Sum ’21 CLAS

Ryan Swope ’21 CLAS

James Terhune ’21 CLAS

Rahul Thapa ’21 CLAS

Shi-yu Tsao ’21 CLAS

Madeline Van Brunt ’21 CLAS

Christopher White ’21 CLAS

Brooke Wichterman ’21 CLAS

Sarah Wiik ’21 CLAS

Nicholas Woltman ’21 CLAS

Philip Yang ’21 CLAS

Bernard Zitzewitz ’21 CLAS

Anthony Berna ’22 CLAS

Aaron LeVan ’22 CLAS

Mackenzie O’Reilly ’22 CLAS

Sofia Leone ’22 CLAS