Sustainable Leadership Council

Villanova Sustainable Leadership Council

The Sustainable Leadership Council helps coordinate, support, advance, and track sustainable practices and policies on campus. The current mission of this council is to develop a comprehensive sustainability plan for Villanova University. In an effort to address all elements of sustainability need across campus, the Sustainable Leadership Council created four committees (Academics and Research, Operations, Social Justice, and Student Life), each dedicated to a different university function. Members of the committees are made up of a mixture of faculty, staff and students from the five colleges.

Bill Lorenz, Co-Chair, Director of Sustainable Engineering Program

Father Art Purcaro, Co-Chair, Vice President Mission and Ministry

Bob Morro, Operations Committee Chair, Vice President University Facilities Management

Randy Weinstein, Academics and Research Committee Chair

Kathryn Getek Soltis, Social Justice Committee Chair, Center for Peace and Justice Education

Liesel Schwarz, Student Committee Chair, Sustainability Manager

Frank Galgano, College of Liberal Arts & Sciences

Paul Rosier, College of Liberal Arts & Sciences

Jonathan Doh, Villanova School of Business

Todd Aagaard, Villanova School of Law

Ruth McDermott-Levy, College of Nursing

Nat Nataraj, College of Engineering

Al Ortega, College of Engineering

Bob Morro, Vice President University Facilities Management  

Kathy Byrnes, Student Life

Neil Horgan, Finance

Mark Jackson, Director of Athletics

Jim Trainer, Office of Planning and Institutional Research  

Ann Diebold, University Communications

Mike O'Neill, University Advancement  

Tim Dietzler, Director of Dining Services 

Dan Griffin, Director of Villanova's Partnership with Catholic Relief Services

This diverse group of people is expanding into four committees in order to develop Villanova's future sustainability plan. If you are interested in being a part of this process please email Liesel Schwarz.


Villanova University, as a community of learned and learning scholars, respecting the sacredness of all creation, accepts its responsibility to the integrity of Earth and its biodiversity, to the heritage of future generations, and to the security of nations. By utilizing the Augustinian values of Unitas, Veritas, and Caritas, meaning love thy neighbor, promote community unity, and live life in moderation through our curriculum, work environment, and operations, Villanova’s approach to sustainability exemplifies an emphasis on social justice and community service.

For questions regarding campus sustainability email Liesel Schwarz

Sustainability Plan Outline