University Staff Council

About USC

The University Staff Council (USC) was created in 2008 by Father Peter Donohue, O.S.A., Villanova University President, as a group to encourage dialogue and involvement from Villanova University staff members.

As noted in the University Staff Council Charter, “the USC will be an open forum where, within a spirit of respect and frankness, staff representatives and other colleagues will discuss and address cross-University topics and concerns with respect to community building, job fulfillment, work process improvement, and other issues with the ultimate goal of contributing to the University’s Mission and values.”

Meet the USC

Upcoming Events

Tuesday, March 3: “Communication Improved, Conflict Reduced”

12-1 p.m., Bartley 1011
Click to register
Effective communication is essential not only for our professional life, but for our personal life as well. This interactive workshop focuses on nonverbal communication, active listening, and barriers to effective communication. The workshop will explore how we can learn to effectively resolve conflicts more productively and prevent conflict from occurring with greater understanding of our conflict styles and methods of communication. This workshop is presented by Health Advocate and sponsored by the University Staff Council and Human Resources. 

Monday, March 23: USC March Meeting - all staff are welcome to attend!
2-3 p.m., Law School, Room 301C
Presenter: Ray Duffy, Human Resources

USC Meeting Hot Points

Monday, February 23
2- 3:30 p.m.
West Lounge, Dougherty Hall

  • Presentation by Alice Lenthe, Director of Environmental Health and Safety (EHS)

About the Villagnome Award

The Villagnome is awarded at each month's USC meeting to people and departments on campus who have been caught performing exceptional acts for the good of the community. USC presents the Villagnome statue to the winners to protect and enjoy for one month until the next recipient is selected.


February 2015 Awardee

The Villagnome has been awarded to Allison Venella (Director of Student-Athlete Development, Villanova Athletics) for her tenure as USC Chair the past two years. Thank you and congratulations!

Past Recipients

Marybeth Avioli and UNIT Staff
Anne Ford, Falvey Library
Dining Services, Public Safety, Grounds and the Health Center
Helen Tursi, Helen Mercanti and the USC Community Committee

Father Chris Drennen and Campus Ministry
Vince Nicastro, Athletics
Mary Jane Magee, Campus Ministry (retired)
Amy Spare, Law School Library
UNIT – Matt Morrisey, Emil Kotschneff, Martin McDonnell, Jeff Rule, Rob Watson
Rick Launderslager, Grounds/Recycling
Conference Services – Ron Diment, Sue Scollon, Stefanie Austinat
Executive Campaign Committee – Heather Potts Brown, Cathleen Parsons-Nikolic, William Green, Patricia McGoldrick, Mary Cunningham, Kathy Welsch, James Garvey, Amy Layman, George Kolb, Anne Hoelzle, Emily Spitale


USC Executive Committee

Emily Walsh, Chair
(610) 519-5152

Kimberly Reilly, Vice-Chair
(610) 519-7454

Megan Jacobs, Secretary
(610) 519-7053

Kevin Grubb, Treasurer
(610) 519-4064