Congratulations to our 2020 student award winners!

Congratulations to our student award winners! The medallion of excellence award winners are Meagan Murray (sociology) and Lailany Viera (criminology). The McGarry award winners are Meagan Murray (criminology) and Isabella Carrano (sociology).

Meagan Murray earned the McGarry Award and the John E. Hughes Award.

Meagan Murray

"Though I feel incredibly lucky to have received both the McGarry Award and the John E. Hughes Award, I am most grateful for the experience that I had in the Department of Sociology and Criminology. My classes cultivated critical thinking skills and my professors were incredible mentors. The department was truly a home to me and I am honored to receive the awards."

Lailany Viera earned the Edwin Sutherland Award.

Lailany Viera

"I am extremely honored to receive the Edwin Sutherland Award and be recognized by my professors. It is a testament to the support and opportunities everyone at the department has given me throughout the years! I am so grateful for my experiences at Villanova and with the Department of Sociology and Criminology!"

Isabella Carrano earned the McGarry Award.

Isabella Carrano

"I am very honored to receive the McGarry Award from the Sociology Department. Being a Sociology major has given me the ability to use my skills to help others and make a positive impact not only at Villanova, but everywhere life takes me. I am thankful for my wonderful experience at Villanova these past 4 years and I will take my knowledge and passion for service with me when I graduate."



This award is presented to a graduating student who best combines "Academic Excellence with a Commitment to Social Justice." Dr. McGarry was a member of the Sociology Department from 1963 until 2004. A deeply spiritual man, Dr. McGarry was a quiet yet relentless advocate for social justice. Generosity and a deep-seated concern for others were two of the outstanding qualities that made him a special human being. Each year he made significant contributions to a number of a non-profit organizations serving the poor. He always maintained a cordial and helpful relationship with his students, never failing to greet each of them with a smile. He was an esteemed colleague and an excellent teacher who was respected by four generations of students. His colleagues honored him for his commitment to his students and the less fortunate by establishing this award.

Past Winners Include:

2019    Noelle Gambale, Kaitlyn Murray, Bethany Ho, & Avery Takaha

2018    Nora Charidah, Anna DalCortivo, Jocelin Rocha, & Abigail Smith

2017    Jorna Sojati

2016    Daniel Shea

2015    Jessica Flynn

2014    Meagan McCullough

2013    Melissa Madden, Amanda Mathew, & Molly Sapia

2012    Weddy K. Worjroh

2011    Mary Anna McCabe

2010    Diondra T. Burney & Caitrin L. Coccoma 

2009    Jaclyn McNamee

2008    Lauren E. Thum

2007    Kristyna N. Carroll

John E. Hughes was the Founder of the Department of Sociology at Villanova University. This award is presented to a graduating Sociology major who exhibits excellence in academics.

Past Winners Include:

2019    Sarah Knowles

2018    Anna DalCortivo

2017    Jorna Sojati

2016    Emily Walthouse

2015    Stephanie Uibel

2014    Corina Balsamo

2013    Kristen DiGloria

2012    Kristen E. Valosky

2011    Alissa C. Ricci

2010    Caitrin L. Coccoma

2009    Jacquelin Giacobbe

2008    Maggie T. Grace

2007    Brianne M. Orner

The Edwin Sutherland Award is named after a leading figure in criminal justice theory and research. The award is given to a graduating major in Criminal Justice who exhibits excellence in academics.

2019    Sarah Rizos

2018    Mackenzie Niness

2017    Meaghan Fabian

2016    Morgan Scully

2015    Angelica Lieto

2014    Jessica Dittmer

2013    Nicole Frisch

2012    Christopher M. Putvinski

2011    Chelsea K. Moylan

2010    Richard R. Baccare

2009    Kelly Kreider

2008    Ashley R. Newman

2007    Katie D. Baranek

Department Chair:
Dr. Robert DeFina 
 SAC 204
Phone: (610) 519-4482

Administrative Assistants:
Mary Ann Hostler
: (610) 519-4742

Shelly DuBois
: (610) 519-4786