The Outstanding Faculty Research Award

The Outstanding Faculty Research Award is presented to a member of the faculty who demonstrates the highest standards of excellence in their research, scholarship, and contributions to their field. The scholar receives an honorarium and a certificate attesting to this award at a formal dinner in the spring and is presented to the university at spring commencement.  Under a newly instituted policy, a nomination may remain active for a total of three years.  Updated vita and references may be provided by the nominee each year of consideration.

Eligibility for the Award

Recipients of the award will be individuals who have established a national and international scholarly reputation in their field as evidenced by their publications in highly cited journals, invited presentations at national and international symposia, leadership in research consortia and centers, invited academic colloquium presentations, and similar scholarly activities that indicate stature in their field.

  • All full-time faculty members in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, College of Engineering, College of Nursing, and Villanova School of Business who hold the rank of Tenured Full Professor are eligible for the award.
  • Faculty with at least ten years of service to Villanova at the time of nomination are eligible.
  • The award is presented based on the scholarly activity of the faculty member while on the faculty of Villanova University.  Scholarly work completed when the nominee was not on the Villanova faculty is not formally considered.
  • No individual may receive the award more than once.

Letter of Nomination

  • A formal letter of nomination may be submitted by an individual or a group of full-time Villanova faculty members.
  • The letter should be submitted as a Word document addressed to Dr. Amanda M. Grannas, Associate Vice Provost for Research, and submitted via email to by 5:00 pm EST annually on the first Friday in November. 
  • The letter of nomination should include a narrative presenting a description of the nominee’s qualifications for consideration, the significance of his or her scholarship, and an explanation of its originality and impact in its field.
  • All nominees will be contacted and asked to submit supporting materials such as a current Vita and sample publications.

Selection Committee

The recipient is selected by a committee consisting of the Associate Vice Provost for Research, previous award recipients, and a representative of the Committee on Faculty.

Previous Award Recipients

Dr. José R. de la Vega 1981
Dr. R. Kelman Wieder 1995
Dr. Ingeborg L. Ward 1981 Dr. Andrew Woldar 1996
Dr. John D. Caputo 1982 Dr. Moeness Amin 1997
Dr. Roman Maksymowych 1982 Dr. Jeffrey W. Hahn 1998
Dr. Edward F. Guinan 1983 Dr. Richard N. Juliani 1999
Dr. Robert L. Grob 1983 Dr. Michael Brown 2000
Dr. George T. Radan 1984 Dr. Aaron M. Bauer 2002
Dr. Bernard F. Reilly 1984 Dr. John A. Pearch II 2003
Dr. Alain J. Phares 1986 Dr. Ann Mosely Lesch 2004
Dr. Wayne G. Bremser 1987 Dr. Mary E. Desmond 2005
Dr. Walter E. Conn 1987 Dr. Suzanne Smeltzer 2006
Dr. Gerald M. Long 1988 Dr. Ahmad Hoorfar 2007
Dr. Rodger Van Allen 1988 Dr. Robert DeFina 2008
Dr. Edward M. Sion 1989 Dr. Charles R. Taylor 2009
Dr. Philip J. Stephens 1989 Dr. Charles L. Folk 2010
Dr. Lucy McDiarmid 1990 Dr. Robert T. Jantzen 2011
Dr. Charles E. Zech 1990 Dr. Ronald Paul Hill 2012
Dr. Thomas W. Busch 1991 Dr. C. Nataraj 2013
Dr. Rachel T. Hare-Mustin 1991 Dr. Sally Scholz 2014
Dr. Matthew J. Liberatore 1992 Dr. Giorgi Japaridze 2015
Dr. Bernard J. Gallagher III 1993 Dr. Robert Traver 2016
Dr. George P. McCook 1994 Dr. Paul L. Danove 2017
Dr. Vincent B. Sherry 1995 Dr. Marc Gallicchio
    Dr. Michael S. Pagano  2018
    Dr. Jonathan Doh 2019

Scholarship Video

2014 – Dr. Sally Scholz

Office of the Provost

Tolentine Hall, Room 103
800 Lancaster Avenue
Villanova, PA 19085
Phone: 610.519.4525
Fax: 610.519.6200

Meet Our Staff