Skip to main content

The Pohlhaus-Stracciolini Award for Teaching Excellence

The Pohlhaus-Stracciolini Award for Teaching Excellence is presented to an adjunct faculty member who demonstrates a commitment to the life of the mind and to the well-being of students through teaching that is intellectually stimulating, challenging, and accessible, with efforts extending beyond the classroom.  The University President solicits nominations for this award annually. The Awards Committee of the Faculty Congress evaluates these nominations. This award is presented to the selected faculty member during commencement exercises in May.

Award Recipients Since 2008

Award Winners Date
Mr. James Barnes, Chemistry Dept. 2008
Dr. Michael H. Prosch, Philosophy Dept. 2009
Ms. Stephanie B. Sena, History Dept. 2010
Not awarded 2011
Not awarded 2012
Mrs. Cathleen Velez, English Dept. 2013
Mr. James Reaves, Management and Operations
Not awarded 2015
Dr. Brighid Dwyer, Director, Program on Intergroup Relations 2016
Mrs. Jessie Dern-Sisco, Philosophy
Mr. Lester Lottman, VSB
Rev. Naomi Washington Leapheart, Theology and Religious Studies 2019
Professor Mary Foster, Nursing 2020
Dr. Melanie Subacus, Classical Studies 2021
Ms. Carol Anthony, Peace and Justice, Augustine and Culture Seminar Program 2022
Mr. Craig Carpenter, Augustine and Culture Seminar Program 2023
Dr. Jody Lerner, Education and Counseling

Office of the Provost

Tolentine Hall, Room 103
800 Lancaster Avenue
Villanova, PA 19085
Phone: 610.519.4520
Fax: 610.519.6200

Meet Our Staff