Skip to main content

Annual Mass and Alumni Awards

The M. Louise Fitzpatrick College of Nursing Annual Mass and Alumni Awards Ceremony, started in 1990, is held each spring and co-sponsored by the Fitzpatrick College of Nursing and the Nursing Alumni Association. Alumni and other special guests are invited to gather at the St. Thomas of Villanova Church on campus to reunite, rejoice in the College's heritage and future and celebrate its alumni. At the conclusion of the Mass, the Alumni Awards ceremony occurs where the Fitzpatrick College of Nursing Medallion is bestowed upon select alumni who have excelled in their achievements and service to the profession or the College. Special recognitions may also be given at this time. A reception for the guests follows the ceremony.

31st Annual Alumni Mass & Awards Ceremony

Saturday, April 25 | 6 p.m. | St. Thomas of Villanova Church


The Rev. Peter M. Donahue, OSA, PhD
President, Villanova University


Immediately following in Driscoll Hall Atrium



Medallion for Distinguished Contributions to the Profession

Kelly Reilly ’16 PhD, RN-BC, NEA-BC

Dr. Reilly is vice president, Patient Experience, and chief learning officer, Nursing at Maimonides Medical Center in Brooklyn, N.Y. She also serves as assistant vice president for Pediatric Nursing; senior director of Nursing, Education, Innovation and Research; and director of Nursing Research and Evidence-based Practice. Dr. Reilly uses data to improve practice and optimize outcomes across the medical center, has developed institutional standards and is largely responsible for robust training programs for new and incumbent staff. She launched a research conference and created an environment encouraging nurses to think, innovate and achieve.         

Medallion for Distinguished Service to the College

Lesley A. Perry, PhD, RN

Dr. Perry retired from Villanova Nursing after more than 12 years, having been a professor and associate dean for Academic Affairs. Dr. Perry served the College in countless other ways, including as interim dean in 2017-2018 following the death of M. Louise Fitzpatrick, EdD, RN, FAAN, Connelly Endowed Dean and Professor.  

Dr. Terry Nance Award for Inclusive Excellence
Presented by the Villanova University Alumni Association

Tyonne Hinson ’01 MSN, DrPH, RN, NE-BC

Dr. Hinson is director, Nursing Diversity Initiatives and Nursing Career Lattice Program, at Boston Children’s Hospital (BCH) and a member of the College’s Board of Consultors. She was honored not only for her enterprise-level initiatives at BCH but for providing support for students and graduates from diverse backgrounds, particularly students of color; for partnering with Villanova to increase the number of diverse graduates seeking nursing positions in the Boston region; for speaking about diversity, equity and inclusion at the College’s 2019 Leadership Summit; for focusing on building community; and for sharing her expertise and counsel with others to advance the University community and enhance the lives of the families she serves.



Coming soon.

Annual Mass and Alumni Awards