The Opus Prize is awarded annually, not only to expand the humanitarian efforts of the recipient, but to inspire others to pursue lives of service. The $1 million award and two $100,000 prizes make up one of the world's largest faith-based awards for social entrepreneurship. Opus Prize laureates combine the spirit of innovation with amazing faith to inspire long-term, local solutions to address poverty and injustice. Opus Prize laureates prove change is possible, empowering and inspiring us all.



The late Bishop Paride Taban, founder of Holy Trinity Peace Village Kuron in South Sudan, has been chosen as the 2023 Opus Prize Laureate, as announced by The Opus Prize Foundation and Villanova University in a ceremony on Thursday, Nov. 9. As the winner of the annual faith-based humanitarian award, Bishop Taban’s Holy Trinity Peace Village Kuron will receive the one-million-dollar prize that recognizes social entrepreneurship championing faith-filled change.

Accepting the award posthumously on behalf of the late Bishop was Dr. Margaret Itto, deputy chair of the Board for Holy Trinity Peace Village Kuron and State Minister for Health in Eastern Equatoria State, South Sudan.

“Although it saddens me deeply that Bishop Taban is not here with us, I am truly honored to accept this award on his behalf and help recognize the passion and devotion he gave to Holy Trinity Peace Village,” Dr. Itto said. “He has impacted so many lives in Sudan through not only the founding of The Village but the continued love he provided to its community for almost 20 years. His impact will be felt there forever.”


The jurors for the Opus Prize stand together for a photograph.

Eleven distinguished jurors have been named to select the three finalists for the 2023 Opus Prize, an annual faith-based humanitarian award—whose $1 million award and two $100,000 prizes make up one of the world's largest faith-based awards for social entrepreneurship. The prestigious honor recognizes individuals who champion faith-filled change and are working to solve the world’s most persistent social issues. 

Members of Villanova’s Opus Prize jury include leaders from the Greater Philadelphia arts, business, non-profit, faith and civic communities, and have the important responsibility of reviewing and evaluating nominations based on the Opus Prize values and principles, which will be centered around the theme of “Awakening Restless Hearts.”

Madeline Bell '83 FCN
President and Chief Executive Officer of Children's Hospital of Philadelphia

Fr. Kevin DePrinzio, OSA
Vice President for Mission and Ministry at Villanova University

Rev. Peter M. Donohue, OSA, PhD, '75 CLAS
President of Villanova University, Chair

Chris Gheysens '93 VSB
President and Chief Executive Officer, Wawa, Inc.

Jane Golden
Founder and Executive Director, Mural Arts Philadelphia

Rev. Jim Greenfield, OSFS
President, DeSales University

Joseph Lenz
Senior Disaster Program Manager, American Red Cross

Crystal Lucky, PhD
Associate Dean of Undergraduate Programs, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences and Professor of English

Cathy Nguyen
Villanova Class of 2023

Michael Nutter
Former Mayor of Philadelphia

Sister Mary Scullion, RSM
Activist and Co-Founder, Project HOME