Skip to main content

Social Justice Committee

The objective of this committee is to promote projects in the areas of mission, social concern, diversity, and fair labor practices related to the functioning of Villanova University. Specific projects will be included in the sustainability plan.

Committee Members

Fr. Art Purcaro, Vice President Mission and Ministry, University Sustainability Council

Kathryn Getek Soltis, Chair, Center for Peace and Justice Education

Kate Giancatarino, Center for Service and Social Justice in Campus Ministry

Terry Nance, Office of Diversity and Inclusion

Mark Jackson, Athletic Director

Fr. Allan Fitzgerald, Augustinian Representative

Shawn Proctor, Representative from Staff Council

George Kolb, Alumni Representative

Jean Lutes, Representative from Faculty Congress

Jerry Beyer, Faculty (CLAS)

Sunny Hallowell, Faculty (NUR), currently on sabbatical, returns Fall 2019

Madeline Ochabillo, Representative from SLAM (Student Labor Action Movement)

Christian Miller/Connor McKenzie, Representative from SGA

Claryn Spies, Representative from the Graduate Student Council

Sustainability Plan Outline

Villanova University, as a community of learned and learning scholars, respecting the sacredness of all creation, accepts its responsibility to the integrity of Earth and its biodiversity, to the heritage of future generations, and to the security of nations. By utilizing the Augustinian values of Unitas, Veritas, and Caritas, meaning love thy neighbor, promote community unity, and live life in moderation through our curriculum, work environment, and operations, Villanova’s approach to sustainability exemplifies an emphasis on social justice and community service.

For questions regarding campus sustainability email