Skip to main content

College of Engineering’s 43rd Engineering Alumni Awards

College of Engineering’s 43rd Engineering Alumni Award Winners
Back row: Robert Creighton ’01 CpE; Michael Gillin ’99 ME, ’04 MBA; Thomas Portland ’69 ChE; David Diehl ’00 CE; Thomas Cassin ’83 ME, ’86 MSME Front row: James Rolston ’10 ChE, ’15 MBA; Elizabeth Porter ’93 EE; Sheena White ’06 ME; Interim Dean Dr. Randy Weinstein; Patrick Treacy ’87 ME, Christine Baudier Wood ’05 CE; Ashley Ferguson ’09 ME Not pictured: Andrew Lee '19 ME, Christopher McCartin ’91 CE

On February 21, 2020, the College of Engineering and the Engineering Alumni Society hosted the 43rd Engineering Alumni Awards reception to celebrate the achievements of 13 exceptional engineering alumni. Both on campus and around the world, these alumni exemplify service, leadership, excellence, stewardship and technical advancements in the field of engineering.

Five of the alumni awards are named in honor of the College of Engineering’s past deans:

The Robert D. Lynch Memorial Award: Established in Dean Robert D. Lynch’s (1975-2001) name, this award is the highest honor for an undergraduate engineering student and is awarded to a graduating senior for his or her outstanding academic achievements and exemplary dedication to serving the community. The 2020 recipient, Andrew Lee ’19 ME, is one of only 68 students selected from more than 4,400 applicants as part of the 2019 cohort of Knight-Hennessy Scholars at Stanford University, where he is a PhD student in materials science and engineering. Lee was presented with his award at convocation last May.

The Gary A. Gabriele Memorial Award: In May 2018, Dr. Gary A. Gabriele passed away after serving as the Drosdick Endowed Dean of the College of Engineering from 2006 to 2018. Having been a strong supporter of providing more inclusive access to engineering education, the Gary A. Gabriele Memorial Award was instituted in 2019 to recognize an alumnus who has promoted equity in the field. This year’s recipient is Sheena White ’06 ME, a senior vice president of Global Business Development at Citigroup. White sits on the College of Engineering Advisory Board and the Girl Scouts of Greater New York Leadership Advisory Board.

The John J. Gallen Memorial Award: In honor of Dean John J. Gallen (1961-1975), this award recognizes the technical achievements of an alumnus who graduated from the College less than 15 years ago. The 2020 recipient is Christine Baudier Wood ’05 CE, manager of the Global Facilities Group in Burns & McDonnell’s Dallas-Fort Worth, Texas offices. She leads over 50 professionals in providing design and construction services and is responsible for managing multimillion-dollar design-build, aerospace and mission-critical projects. In 2019, Wood was promoted to the company’s principal group, a senior level of leadership held by only 2% of employees.

The Carl T. Humphrey Memorial Award: Presented in memory of the College’s first dean, Carl T. Humphrey (1920-1938), this award recognizes the professional achievements of an alumnus who earned a master’s degree from the College more than five years ago. The 2020 recipient is Thomas Cassin ’83 ME, ’86 MSME, recent past president and CEO of Materials Sciences Corporation. Cassin is a member of the Mechanical Engineering Advisory Board and is also the founder and owner of Countervail Products, LLC, which designs, manufactures and sells vibration cancelling materials that have been in the winning tennis racquets at Wimbledon and the Australian and French Open, while also being the first across cycling finish lines, most notably at the Tour de France.

The J. Stanley Morehouse Memorial Award: Presented in memory of Dean J. Stanley Morehouse (1938-1961), this award recognizes outstanding leadership at the highest level. The 2020 recipient is Patrick Treacy ’87 ME, CEO of Onkos Surgical. Treacy is passionate about building a team dedicated to supporting advancements in the field of orthopedic oncology as well as being an advocate for sarcoma awareness. Active in his alma mater, he sits on Villanova University’s Engineering Entrepreneurship Advisory Board and guest lectures in the program.

Meritorious service awards are presented to alumni who have provided continuing support to the College of Engineering. This year’s honored alumni are:

  • Robert Creighton ’01 CpE
  • David Diehl ’00 CE
  • Ashley Ferguson ’09 ME
  • Thomas Portland ’69 ChE

Professional achievement awards recognize contributions to technology and technological fields. 2019 recipients are:

  • Michael Gillin ’99 ME, ’04 MBA
  • Christopher McCartin ’91 CE
  • Elizabeth Porter ’93 EE
  • James Rolston ’10 ChE, ’04 MBA

More than 150 alumni, faculty, staff, students and friends of the College attended the event, which included remarks from Engineering Alumni Society president Catherine Honohan ’11 CE, ’15 MBA; Associate Vice President for Alumni Relations George R. Kolb ’84 VSB; and Interim Dean Randy Weinstein, PhD, College of Engineering. 

News Archives