Skip to main content

College Presents Annual Dean’s Awards for Excellence

2018 Dean's Awards Winners
2018 Dean's Award Winners

On April 12, 2018, Villanova University College of Engineering returned to Overbrook Country Club for the Dean’s Awards Dinner. Honoring this year’s graduating seniors, the 43rd annual awards were once again blessed by sunshine as the year comes to a close.

Associate Dean for Academic Affairs Andrea Welker, PhD, PE, began the reception with a welcome for the students, parents, faculty and staff in attendance. Dinner followed an invocation by Cassandra Rapp ’18 ME and the evening culminated in the presentation of awards by the individual department chairs.  This year, the Academic Excellence Award was given to 29 students, the top 10 percent by cumulative grade point average in each engineering major:

Caitlin Berner
Joseph Bucci
Brendan Burke
Al Chandeck Chen
John Coppa
Steven Daniels
Raymond Dengler
Brian Dobkowski
Austin Hake
Kevin Hames
Kathleen Hirthler
William Hix
Alexandra Howe
Cara Kobylarz
David Lewis

Erik Lindroth
Gabriel Lopez
Rachael Miller
Lance Miranda
Ryan O'Kane
Christopher Ryder
Ryan Schnabel
Stephen Spada
Daniel Tagliaferro
Ariel Thompson
Patsy Trecost
Michael Ubertaccio
Matthew Walker
Mathias Wanner

Those seniors who distinguished themselves through long-term extra-curricular and/or service activities within the College were presented with the Meritorious Service Award:

Christopher Austin
Caitlin Berner
Mackenzie Bowden
Stephanie Jones
Michael McHale

Christopher Medora
Cassandra Rapp
Catharine Scoboria
Stephen Taing

During the introduction of each awardee, the presenter shared the student’s proudest moment and post-graduation plans. Among the companies hiring the College’s best and brightest are Air Liquide, Caterpillar, Chatham Financial, Exelon, Gannett-Fleming, GlaxoSmithKline, Harris Corporation, Lockheed Martin, Merck, Northrup Grumman, Smith & Nephew and Texas Instruments.  Several students are pursuing advanced degrees at schools including Georgia Tech; Northwestern University; University of California, Santa Barbara and Villanova.

Additional awards, including each department’s outstanding undergraduate medallion, will be presented at the College of Engineering Convocation Ceremony on Saturday, May 19.