Dean's Award Dinner Honors Outstanding Undergraduate Engineering Students

The Annual Dean’s Award Dinner, which honors senior engineering students for their academic and service accomplishments, was held on April 17. The event has taken place every year since 1976 and brings together students, parents, faculty, and staff. There were two categories of student awards given out – 48 awards for Academic Excellence and 10 awards for Meritorious Service. In addition The William F. Farrell Award, which was established in 1975 in memory of Rev. William F. Farrell, O.S.A., was given to Dr. David W. Dinehart in the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering. This award recognizes an engineering faculty member who has demonstrated exemplary personal concern for students.

The evening began with an invocation by Rev. Kail Ellis, O.S.A., dean of the College of Arts and Sciences and welcoming remarks by Dr. Gary Gabriele, dean of the College of Engineering and Dr. John Johannes, vice president for Academic Affairs. The evening was capped off with remarks by Dr. Amy Fleischer, BME ’91, MME ’96, who teaches in the Department of Mechanical Engineering and is on the Executive Board of the Engineering Alumni Society. She spoke about the importance staying involved in Villanova after graduation.