Skip to main content

Dr. Amy Fleischer Named 2011 Winner of ASME K-16 Clock Award

On the heels of winning the 2010 “Woman Engineer of the Year” award from the American Society of Mechanical Engineers’ (ASME) Electronic and Photonic Packaging Division (EPPD), Dr. Amy Fleischer, Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering, received the society’s K-16 Clock Award for 2011. She accepted the award at the ASME International Mechanical Engineering Congress and Exposition, held in Denver in November.

Given annually by the ASME’s EPPD and K-16 Heat Transfer in Electronic Equipment Committee, the award recognizes “outstanding and continuing contributions to the science and engineering of heat transfer in electronics” over a sustained period of high achievement or leadership in this field. According to the ASME, “the K-16 Committee is a joint committee of the Heat Transfer Division (HTD) and the EPPD” which “forms a bridge between the art and science of heat transfer in electronics as represented by the HTD and the application of that heat transfer science to thermal engineering of electronic equipment as represented by the EPPD.”

In recognition of her accomplishments, Dr. Fleischer was nominated by Dr. Gamal Refai-Ahmed, Chief Scientist and Visiting Professor at PreQual Tech Corp and incoming Chair of the K-16 Committee, and Dr. Samuel Graham, Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering at the Georgia Institute of Technology and new incoming Vice Chair of the committee.

In 2005, the K-16 Committee on Thermal Management of Electronics, made up of approximately 40 engineers conducting research in this field from the academic and industrial communities (which includes prominent engineers from companies such as Intel, AMD, and IBM) elected Dr. Fleischer to a senior leadership position within the group. She eventually ascended to chair of the committee and served a two-year term at its helm. During this tenure, she also received the “Woman Engineer of the Year Award.”

The K-16 Clock Award caps Dr. Fleischer’s six years of service to the Committee and recognizes her outstanding leadership and guidance of the group.

Dr. Amy Fleischer, Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering  Photo Credit – Aurora Imaging Company
Dr. Amy Fleischer, Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering