Skip to main content

Two Faculty Members Honored for Outstanding Teaching and Service

In addition to saluting the achievements of the class of 2010 at this year’s commencement ceremony, several faculty members were also acknowledged for their teaching and service contributions to the University and its community.

In the College of Engineering, Dr. Randy Weinstein, Professor and Chair of the Department of Chemical Engineering, and James O’Brien, Assistant Professor of Mechanical Engineering, were honored with prestigious awards given annually by the University.

“Excellence in teaching and a commitment to service are at the heart of the College’s mission,” says Dr. Gary Gabriele, Drosdick Endowed Dean of the College of Engineering. “We are grateful to our colleagues for their distinguished contributions and proud that the greater University community joins us in recognizing their outstanding work.”

Dr. Weinstein received The Christian R. and Mary F. Lindback Award for Outstanding Teaching, which honors a faculty member for excellence in undergraduate teaching. Given since 1963, the Lindback Award winner is chosen by a special committee comprised of previous recipients of the award.

O’Brien was awarded The Lawrence C. Gallen, O.S.A. Faculty Service Award, which recognizes a faculty member who has exemplified outstanding service to the Villanova community. Nominees are recommended by their fellow faculty from across the University, and the annual recipient is selected by Father Peter Donohue, O.S.A., University president. The Gallen Faculty Service Award has been given since 1994.