Skip to main content

Engineering Alumni Society Recognizes Accomplished Alumni

Members of the Engineering Alumni Society (EAS) and representatives from the College of Engineering gathered to honor alumni who have demonstrated service to the field of engineering through leadership, business, and technical advancements at an annual reception and awards ceremony held this year on September 24. The program included remarks from University President Rev. Peter M. Donohue, O.S.A.; Robert Gordon, ChE ’80, Chairman of the Alumni Awards Committee; and Alexander J. Fazzini, CE ’74, President of EAS.

The following alumni received recognition for their professional success and service to the College of Engineering.

Alumni Award for Professional Achievement – recognizes contributions to technology through substantial achievements in marketing, management, or entrepreneurship as well as achievements in strictly technical fields.

  • David Didier CE ’92, MBA ’10, Associate Vice President and Deputy Operations Manager for AECOM’s Philadelphia District
  • Adelene Perkins ChE ’81, President and Chief Executive Officer at Infinity Pharmaceuticals
  • Dr. David Quinn ME, ’02, Post-doctoral associate at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Christine Slocumb EE ’90, MSEE ’92, Founder and President of Clarity Quest Marketing

Alumni Award for Meritorious Service – recognizes alumni who have given continuing support to the College of Engineering, have been instrumental in directing the proper type of young men and women to Villanova, and have been willing to give their support to assist the education activities of the College.

  • David B. Campbell CE ’76, MSCE ’81, Principal with Schnabel Engineering and Director of Dam Engineering
  • Christos Dantos ME ’80, responsible for the Space and Undersea programs at Hamilton Sundstrand headquarters, a division of United Technologies Corporation
  • Michael Hnatow ChE ’93, Director of Sales and Marketing for
  • Richard P. Thompson EE ’64, Technology Commercialization Specialist for Ben Franklin Technology Partners

The Carl T. Humphrey Memorial Award – recognizes the professional achievements, with emphasis placed on demonstrated leadership or substantial technical contributions, of an alumnus who holds a master’s degree from Villanova’s College of Engineering.

  • Gregory Paxson PE, MSCE ’00, Principal with Schnabel Engineering and Manager of the Dam Engineering Group

The John J. Gallen Memorial Award – recognizes the achievement of those whose technical effort yields advances in the engineering profession.

  • Steven J. Spear ME ’93, MSME ’99, Chief Engineering and Site Engineering Leader for Boeing’s Rotorcraft Systems Philadelphia operation

The J. Stanley Morehouse Memorial Award – recognizes outstanding leadership, as demonstrated in the planning or the administration of activities involving or related to the engineering profession.

  • Anthony J. Melone EE ’82, Senior Vice President and Chief Technical Officer for Verizon Wireless


engineering alumni
L-R: Dr. David Quinn, ME, ’02, Anthony J. Melone, EE ’82, Rev. Peter M. Donohue, O.S.A, Richard P. Thompson, EE ’64, Gregory Paxson, PE, MSCE ’00, Steven J. Spear, ME ’93, MSME ’99, Christine Slocumb, EE ’90, MSEE ’92, David B. Campbell, CE ’76, MSCE ’81, Adelene Perkins, ChE ’81, Michael Hnatow, ChE ’93, Christos Dantos, ME ’80, David Didier, CE ’92, MBA ’10. Photo credits: John Welsh