Engineering Alumni Receive Honors

To acknowledge the achievements of their fellow alumni, College of Engineering graduates of all ages gathered in the Center for Engineering Education and Research on October 2 for the 33rd annual Engineering Alumni Awards Ceremony and Reception, sponsored by the College of Engineering Alumni Society (EAS) and the Villanova University Alumni Association. Joining in the festivities were faculty, staff, students, and University representatives.

The evening kicked off with a two-hour reception, during which guests enjoyed a buffet dinner, toured labs, and talked to students about their project displays. Afterward, Robert Gordon ChE '80, Chair of the Engineering Alumni Awards Committee, welcomed everyone to the awards presentation. Rev. Peter M. Donohue, OSA, A&S '75, President of Villanova University, added his greetings. In particular, he commended the students for their projects and their commitment to carrying on the alumni’s legacy of using their technical skills to build a better world, especially for the disadvantaged.

Following the awards ceremony, Dr. Gary A. Gabriele, the Drosdick Endowed Dean of Engineering, summarized the exciting developments in the College during the past year. In closing, EAS President Sean O’Donnell CPE ’00 thanked alumni for their membership in EAS, which provides financial support to current engineering students. (To learn more about awards criteria, nominating a candidate, and applying for or renewing membership, visit EAS.)

Engineering Alumni Receive Honors
From left: Dean Gary Gabriele, Irene Kropp, Ron DeGregorio, Sean McDermott, Dr. Thomas Hanratty, Nelson Shaffer, Maury Bayer, Bill Lorenz, Erin Vogel, Rev. Peter Donohue

2009 EAS Award Recipients

The J. Stanley Morehouse Memorial Award
Thomas J. Hanratty, PhD, ChE '47

The John J. Gallen Memorial Award
Amy Kleist Holovaty ChE '97, MBA ’04

The Carl T. Humphrey Memorial Award
Maury B. Bayer MSCPE '04

Meritorious Service Awards
Anthony J. Donadeo EE '95
William K. Lorenz ChE '68
Nelson J. Shaffer MSTE '81
Erin Vogel BSME ’05, MSME '06

Professional Achievement Awards
Ron DeGregorio ME '91
Irene Kropp MSWREE '83
Sean McDermott EE '88
Janice Peterson ChE '82