2008 Engineering Alumni Society (EAS) Awards

More than 100 alumni, faculty, administrators, and staff gathered for the Engineering Alumni Society’s 32nd annual reception and awards ceremony, held on Friday, September 26, 2008. "For the first time, we held the event in the fall and in CEER," said Sean O'Donnell CPE '00, President of EAS. "We also revised the format. Our goal was to build a stronger connection with the College of Engineering and the students. The changes were well received."

The program opened with a reception, building tours, and displays of student projects. The awards ceremony followed and included remarks by Rev. Peter M. Donohue, OSA, '75, President of Villanova University; Dr. Gary Gabriele, Dean of the College of Engineering; and O’Donnell.

Alumni received the following awards:

J. Stanley Morehouse Award: Zareh Baghdasarian BEE '83

Carl T. Humphrey Award:  Sudhakar Goverdhanam MSME '95

John J. Gallen Award:  Craig Fennie, Ph.D., BEE '93, MSEE '96

Meritorious Service

  • Joseph G. Lamack III BChE '87
  • John J. McFadden, Ph.D., BCE '91, MSCE '94
  • Peter Michel BCPE '02, MCSC '05
  • Jordan Ermilio BME '98, MSWRE '06

Professional Achievement

  • Raymond Hozalski, Ph.D., BChE '90
  • Nelson J. Shaffer MSTE '81
  • Bruno Pattan BEE '52
  • Peter Fong BME '86

This year's EAS awards were sponsored by O'Donnell & Naccarato, Penntex Construction Co., F. Tavani & Associates, Wick Fisher White, W.S. Cumby, AEC, and Hill International.

The dedicated members of the EAS meet throughout the year to work with the engineering departments and the Villanova University Alumni Association to support the College of Engineering's students. Through the generosity of its members, the EAS helps fund student projects and activities, as well as scholarships for incoming freshmen.