Skip to main content

Villanova Nurses Make History at the 2017 SNAP Convention


The Student Nurses' Association of Pennsylvania (SNAP) hosted the 65th Annual State Convention at the Kalahari Resort and Convention Center, Pocono Manor, Pa. Nov. 15 – 18. The Convention, which gathered chapters from across the state, was dedicated to the memory of M. Louise Fitzpatrick, EdD, RN, FAAN, former dean of the Villanova University College of Nursing who passed away Sept. 1.

The Villanova chapter, one of the largest voluntary membership chapters with 100-200 members, was presented with the Chapter Excellence Award, the state’s highest chapter award. The 26 member Villanova delegation was led by SNAP- Villanova president, Katrina Garzon, and included freshmen through seniors, as well as students from the Alternate and BSN Express programs.

Throughout the 3 day convention, Villanova University College of Nursing and its students, were recognized by their peers for leadership and extraordinary achievement. Several SNAP-Villanova delegates were elected to SNAP board members, including:  

  • Madeline Stadler ’19 CON was elected president of SNAP and presented with the Leader of Tomorrow Award. Madeline has been active in SNAP over the years, served as SNAP Secretary/Treasurer and represented Villanova on the 2017 National Student Nurses’ Association National Scholarship Selection Committee.
  • Meghan Scanlon ’19 CON, elected SNAP vice-president, also received the Jamey Thiel Miller Memorial Legislative Award, one of the state’s highest individual awards and presented for exceptional work related to policy and legislative issues, in memory of Villanova alumna and state SNAP Legislative Coordinator, Jamey Thiel Miller. Meghan, a member of the 2017-18 NSNA National Resolutions Committee, served as the 2016-17 Legislative Coordinator for SNAP and co-authored and presented the 2017 SNAP resolution related to dangers of hazing practices in collegiate settings.  also received the Upperclassman Scholarship for Excellence

Villanova nursing students have served on the SNAP board since 1983, however, this is the first time Villanovans have held the offices of president and vice-president in the same year.

Austin Lin ’21 CON received the Freshman Scholarship for Excellence.

Several Villanova University College of Nursing alumni also participated in the Convention, including:

  • Sandra Gomberg, MSN, RN, ’85, ’89 CON, president SLG-REG, LLC, former chapter and state SNAP president, presented the keynote address, Building on the Best:  Making Today's Vision Tomorrow's Reality.
  • Gloria Donelly, PhD, RN, FAAN,’63 CON Dean Emerita of Drexel University's School of Nursing, received the state SNAP's Lifetime Achievement Award, previously given only twice in SNAP's history (M. Louise Fitzpatrick received the award in 2015).
  • Paula Agosto, MHA, RN, CNO, ’85 CON Children's Hospital of Philadelphia, presented the workshop, Pathways and Professionalism: My Journey to CNO.
  • Cindy Rich Schmus, MSN, RN, CRNP, ’89 CON, lead nurse practitioner at the Children's Hospital of Philadelphia, and consultant to the state SNAP discussed Acute Care Practice as a panel presenter on The Many Avenues for Success in Nursing. As an undergraduate, Cindy was president of SNAP-Villanova, vice president of the state SNAP, and president of the NSNA.
  • Mark Crider, PhD, RN, ’83 CON, president, Pennsylvania State Nurses Association (PSNA) and alumnus of Villanova's master's in nursing program, spoke at the convention and led PSNA's booth in the Exhibit Hall.  As an undergraduate, Dr. Crider was president of the state SNAP.
  • Megan Goodman, BSN, RN, an emergency department staff nurse at Einstein Montgomery Hospital, represented the Emergency Nurses Association at their booth in the Exhibit Hall.  She was the first SNAP-Villanova member from Villanova's on-line AD-BSN program and also served on the boards of the state SNAP and the National Student Nurses Association.

The 2018 SNAP Convention will be November 15 – 17, 2018 in Harrisburg, Pa. The National Student Nurses’ Association Convention is April 3 – 7 in Nashville.