Awards and Honors

Each year several awards are given to faculty members who have distinguished themselves by their contributions to the University:

Faculty Awards

The Outstanding Faculty Research Award

The Outstanding Faculty Research Award is presented to a member of the faculty who demonstrates the highest standards of excellence in their research, scholarship, and contributions to their field. read more

The Pohlhaus-Stracciolini Award for Teaching Excellence

The Pohlhaus-Stracciolini Award for Teaching Excellence is presented to an adjunct faculty member who demonstrates a commitment to the life of the mind and to the well-being of students through teaching that is intellectually stimulating, challenging, and accessible, with efforts extending beyond the classroom. read more

The Outstanding Faculty Mentor Teaching Award

The Outstanding Faculty Mentor Teaching Award is presented to a full-time faculty member who has excelled at mentoring students, especially in scholarly research, at the undergraduate and/or graduate level. read more

The Christian R. and Mary F. Lindback Award for Outstanding Teaching

The Christian R. and Mary F. Lindback Award for Outstanding Teaching is presented to a faculty member who excels in undergraduate teaching. read more

Junior Faculty Award for Excellence in Teaching

The Junior Faculty Award for Excellence in Teaching is presented to a faculty member who has been in a full time position for less than seven years and has developed extraordinarily effective teaching approaches. read more

Faculty Award for Innovative Teaching

The Faculty Award for Innovative Teaching is given annually to a full-time professor whose courses employ creative techniques to enhance student learning and growth. read more

The Lawrence C. Gallen, OSA, Faculty Service Award

The Lawrence C. Gallen, O.S.A. Faculty Service Award is presented to an individual member of the Villanova University faculty who has, over many years, contributed outstanding service to the Villanova University community. read more

The Meyer Innovation and Creative Excellence (ICE) Award

The Meyer Innovation and Creative Excellence Awards were created and endowed in 2009 by Patrick Meyer '74 VSB in honor of the Meyer family (Patrick '74, Edward '86, and C. Paul '30) to recognize a spirit of inovation, creativity, and entrepreneurship that enhances Villanova University.

Faculty Awarded Tenure and Promotion

Faculty Members Awarded Tenure with Promotion to Associate Professor Department
Dr. Christopher Barnett Theology & Religious Studies
Dr. Huajing (Lucy) Chen Accountancy & Information Systems
Dr. Adriano Duque Romance Languages & Literatures
Dr. Erasmus Kersting Economics
Dr. Thomas Ksiazek Communication
Dr. Billie Jean Murray
Dr. Megan Quigley English
Dr. Justinus Satrio Chemical Engineering
Dr. Beth Vallen Marketing & Business Law
Faculty Members Awarded Promotion to Professor Department
Dr. Amanda Grannas Chemistry
Dr. Heather Hicks English
Mr. Michael Hollinger Theatre
Dr. Shawn Howton Finance
Dr. Jeremy Kees Marketing & Business Law
Dr. Christopher Kilby Economics
Dr. Victor Li Economics
Dr. Patrick Maggitti Management & Operations
Dr. Scott Newbert Management & Operations
Dr. Heidi Rose Communication
Dr. Lisa Sewell English
Dr. Dennis Wykoff Biology
Faculty Members Awarded Promotion Non-Tenure to Associate Professor Department
Dr. Marylu Hill Augustinian Culture Seminar
Faculty Members Promoted to Emeritus Professor Department
Dr. Thomas Busch Philosophy
Dr. John Immerwahr Philosophy

Current Endowed Chairs/Deanships

In addition to annual awards, Villanova recognizes faculty who have demonstrated excellence in teaching, research and service through the Endowed Chairs Program. In honoring a faculty member with an endowed chair, we in effect charge them to be premier scholars, academic leaders, and models for other faculty. As they fulfill their obligations as chair holders, they produce value -- in the classroom, in the laboratory, in public venues, and, among their colleagues in their departments and colleges. Additional criteria for appointment include compatibility with the particular academic specifications established by the donor of the chair or professorship and compatibility with and ability to contribute to the University's Catholic and Augustinian values and mission.

Endowed Deanship Name
Current Dean
Connelly Endowed Deanship Dr. M. Louise Fitzpatrick, College of Nursing
The Helen and William O'Toole Endowed Deanship Dr. Joyce E. A. Russell, School of Business
The Drosdick Endowed Deanship Dr. Gary A. Gabriele, College of Engineering
Endowed Chair Name Current Chairholder
The Augustinian Endowed Chair in the Thought of St. Augustine Dr. James R. Wetzel
Philosophy Department
Heimbold Endowed Chair in Irish Studies S2017
Mr. Owen McCafferty
English Department
James R. Birle Endowed Chair in Energy Technology
inaugurated 2/21/95
Dr. Alfonso Ortega
Mechanical Engineering Department
Edward A. Daylor Endowed Chair in Environmental Engineering
inaugurated 12/14/94
Dr. Robert Traver
Civil & Environmental Engineering Dept.
Robert M. Birmingham Endowed Chair in Core Humanities
inaugurated 9/17/98
Dr. John Doody
Associate Dean for First Year Studies, LA&S
Josephine C. Connelly Endowed Chair in Christian Theology
inaugurated 12/2/92
Sr. Ilia Delio, OSF
Theology & Religious Studies Department
David R. Cook Endowed Chair of Philosophy, inaugurated 3/30/93 Dr. William Desmond
Philosophy Department
John F. Connelly Endowed Chair in Management, inaugurated 10/15/98 Dr. Matthew Liberatore
Management and Operations Department
The Robert J. and Mary Ellen Darretta Endowed Chair in Finance, inaugurated 12/7/10 Dr. Michael S. Pagano Finance Department
The Dennis M. Cook Endowed Gregor Mendel Chair in Genetics,
inaugurated June 2013
Dr. Dennis Wykoff
Biology Department
The Harron Family Endowed Chair in Communication, Fall 2016 Dr. Bruce Henderson
Visiting Professor
Thomas G. Labrecque Endowed Chair in Business, inaugurated 11/11/99 Dr. Stephen Andriole
Management and Operations Department
Gerald M. Lemole, M.D., Endowed Chair in Integrated Biology
effective 8/22/08
Dr. Aaron Bauer
Biology Department
Luckow Family Endowed Chair in English
inaugurated 11/2/11
Dr. Lisa Sewell
English Department
Moritz Endowed Chair in Systems Engineering
inaugurated 10/5/06
Dr. C. Nataraj
Mechanical Engineering
Diane L. and Robert F. Moritz, Jr. Endowed Chair in Nursing Research
inaugurated 8/2013
Dr. Helene Moriarty
Richard J. and Barbara Naclerio Endowed Chair in Business
inaugurated 11/2006
Dr. Ronald Hill
Marketing and Business Law
Herbert G. Rammrath Endowed Chair in International Business
inaugurated 4/2007
Dr. Jonathan Doh
Management and Operations
Fred J. Springer Chair in Business Leadership 8/2002
Dr. Quinetta Roberson, Management
The Anne Quinn Welsh Endowed Chair and Director of Honors Program inaugurated 5/2012 Dr. Thomas Smith Director, Honors Program

Office of the Provost

Tolentine Hall, Room 103
800 Lancaster Avenue
Villanova, PA 19085
Phone: 610.519.4525
Fax: 610.519.6200

Meet Our Staff