Meeting of the Villanova University Academic Policy Committee

Friday, March 18, 2016 Mendel Science Center, room 103 11:00 am – 12:30 pm

MINUTES

Present: Wayne Bremser, Danai Chasaki, Taylor Grosjean, Wen Mao, Joseph Orkwiszewski, Paul Pasles, Lesley Perry, Louise Russo (chair), Jutta Seibert, Nancy Sharts-Hopko, Joshua Thomas, Ariel Thompson, Randy Weinstein, Craig Wheeland, Catherine Warrick, Joyce Willens

Not in Attendance: Jerusha Conner, Alice Dailey (NIA), Mark Doorley (NIA), Caitlin Florin, Paul Hanouna (NIA), Ken Kroos, Michael Lamb, Wenhong Luo, Susan Mackey-Kallis (NIA), John Olson, Christine Palus (NIA), Rodrigo Rivero, Bobby Roenitz, Kelly Welch (NIA)

The meeting was called to order at 11:00 am

- I. The chair asked Paul Pasles, chair of the Online CATS sub-committee, to provide an update on recent deliberations. The committee has met four times in spring semester. Plans have been developed to pilot test online CATS in fall 2016 for ~10% of course sections. Full roll-out may occur as early as spring 2017. If not then, fall 2017 at the latest. Discussions between OPIR and UNIT have been focused on flexibility in release of the online evaluation so faculty can work with their students to encourage participation. While the university anticipates managing online CATS internally, there is still an option to contract with a third party.
- II. The chair also updated members on the progress of the sub-committee focused on adjunct faculty evaluation. After the initial meeting, the chair met with Kathy Nazar from OPIR to develop a brief questionnaire to collate information from department chairs and academic program directors related to adjunct faculty evaluation policies and professional development opportunities. The questionnaire will hopefully be ready for roll-out in early April so that data collection can be completed before the end of the semester.
- III. The chair provided a brief update on the continuing work of the core curriculum subcommittee. Deliberations continue but as the work has progressed, however member concerns related to the specific charge of the sub-committee have arisen that may necessitate additional guidance from the Provost's Office before a final report can be produced for APC review.
- IV. The 2019-2020 and 2020-2021 academic calendars were reviewed. Both calendars were approved as submitted with no requests for changes or dissent votes.

The meeting was adjourned at 12:00 pm

Respectfully submitted, Louise Russo

Members of APC: Wayne Bremser, Danai Chasaki, Jerusha Conner, Alice Dailey, Mark Doorley, Caitlin Florin (student representative), Pat Maggitti (represented by Craig Wheeland), Louise Fitzpatrick (represented by Lesley Perry), Gary Gabriele (represented by Randy Weinstein), Taylor Grosjean (student representative), Paul Hanouna, Ken Kroos, Michael Lamb (student representative), Adele Lindenmeyr (represented by Joseph Orkwiszewski), Susan Mackey-Kallis, Wenhong Luo, John Olson, Christine Palus, Paul Pasles, Rodrigo Rivero (student representative), Bobby Roenitz (student representative), Louise Russo (chair), Jutta Seibert, Nancy Sharts-Hopko, Joshua Thomas (grad student representative), Ariel Thompson (student representative), Catherine Warrick, Fayette Veverka, Kelly Welch, Joyce S. Willens, Daniel Wright (represented by Wen Mao)