Meeting of the Villanova University Academic Policy Committee

Thursday, February 26, 2015 Mendel Science Center room 103 1:00 – 2:30 pm

MINUTES

Present: Andrea Conte, Mark Doorley, Jayme Nordin, John Olson, Paul Pasles, Lesley Perry, Louise Russo (chair), Jutta Seibert, Joyce Willens, Craig Wheeland

Not in Attendance: Wayne Bremser, Jerusha Conner, Alice Dailey, Paul Hanouna (NIA), Nancy Sharts-Hopko (NIA), Ken Kroos, John LeComte, Susan Mackey-Kallis (NIA), Christine Palus (NIA), Adele Lindenmeyr (NIA), Wenhong Luo (NIA), Fayette Veverka, Catherine Warrick, Randy Weinstein (NIA), Kelly Welch (NIA), Daniel Wright (NIA)

The meeting was called to order at 1:05 pm

I. The chair welcomed Jim Trainer, Associate Vice President and Executive Director Office of Planning & Institutional Research, and Kathy Nazar, Director, Survey Research, who shared extensive results from the HERI survey conducted in spring 2014. Due to the extensive nature of the survey data and range of content questions, the presentation was focused on results pertaining to academic topics for both undergraduate and graduate education. Villanova participates in this national survey every three years. Data trends that were "significant" as in different by more than a few percentage points from the results of the prior 2010-2011 survey, were highlighted in the presentation. All of the information shared with the APC as well as additional content from Supplemental questions that were specific Villanova is **VPAA** to available on the website at https://vsites.villanova.edu/vpaa/SitePages/Reports.aspx on the Reports page. hundred forty-five faculty participated in the survey, ~48% rate of participation. APC members will discuss these results and ascertain if there are any agenda items stemming from outcomes cited in the report at the next meeting on March 27.

The meeting was adjourned at 2:40 pm

Respectfully submitted, Louise Russo

Members of APC: Wayne Bremser, Jerusha Conner, Andrea Conte, Alice Dailey, Mark Doorley, Kail Ellis (represented by Craig Wheeland), Louise Fitzpatrick (represented by Lesley Perry), Gary Gabriele (represented by Randy Weinstein), Paul Hanouna, Ken Kroos, John LeComte, Adele Lindenmeyr, Susan Mackey-Kallis, Patrick Maggitti (represented by Daniel Wright), Wenhong Luo, Jayme Nordin, John Olson, Christine Palus, Paul Pasles, Louise Russo (chair), Jutta Seibert, Nancy Sharts-Hopko, Catherine Warrick, Fayette Veverka, Kelly Welch, Joyce S. Willens