About Us: Who We Are and What We Do

VICE PRESIDENT’S OFFICE—Griffin Hall, First and Third Floors

Vice President: Ann Diebold (610-519-3820; ann.diebold@villanova.edu)
Associate Vice President: Liz Walsh (610-519-7737; liz.walsh@villanova.edu)
Associate Vice President: Christine Coleman (610-519-8767; christine.coleman@villanova.edu)
Assistant Vice President of Marketing and Creative Services: Melissa Cunningham (610-519-6388; melissa.cunningham@villanova.edu)
Director of Finance and Operations: Bob Mullen (610-519-4168; robert.mullen@villanova.edu)
Interim Director of Advancement Communication, Director of Strategic Communication: Wendy Litzke (610-519-8372; wendy.litzke@villanova.edu)
Communication Associate: Kiera Daly (610-519-3104; kiera.daly@villanova.edu)
Operations and Administrative Coordinator: Abigail Henshaw (610-519-7575; abigail.henshaw@villanova.edu)

MARKETING—Griffin Hall, Second Floor

Assistant Vice President of Marketing and Creative Services: Melissa Cunningham (610-519-6388; melissa.cunningham@villanova.edu)

  • Support undergraduate student recruitment in collaboration with the Office of Admission, including the Viewbook, Campus Guide, Travel and Outcomes brochures, Villanova Virtual Visit, prospective student portal and accepted student packet 
  • Support graduate student recruitment, including coordination of paid media, biannual open houses and online student recruitment in partnership with BISK and Pearson Embanet 
  • Institutional brand management, including the brand book, pocket guide, brand guidelines and IgniteChangeGoNova.com microsite 
  • Maintain Villanova University homepage in collaboration with UNIT, landing pages (About, Admissions and Academics), social media web pages, and mobile app web pages 
  • Track annual institutional rankings and guidebook submissions 
  • Manage Villanova University social media accounts, including Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, LinkedIn and Snapchat 
  • Resource for questions regarding social media policies and social media/web analytics 
  • Manage vendor relationships, including with Villanova’s agency of record for media planning and buying

CREATIVE SERVICES—Falvey Memorial Library, Ground Floor

Director: Bernadette Dierkes (610-519-7319; bernadette.dierkes@villanova.edu)
General department contact information: 610-519-4275; for design: creatives@villanova.edu; for photography: photography@villanova.edu

  • Design services (fee for service): processing of all design work for the University by in-house graphic designers, approved freelance designers or agencies of record; more information on the UCM website 
  • Resource for questions about visual brand guidelines, logo and related brand information 
  • Photography services: handling of all stock photography for the University Photographer vendor relationships, insurance and contracts 
    • Commercial photo shoots 
    • Image requests 
    • Photoshelter (online photo collaboration tool) 
  • Contact for campus signage or outdoor banners

CONSTITUENT PUBLICATIONS—Griffin Hall, Second and Third Floors

Director: Marian Butcher (610-519-4591; marian.butcher@villanova.edu)

  • Villanova Magazine—two issues, fall and spring
  • Campus Currents—daily news and events email; faculty and staff submit entries via myNOVA
  • President’s Report—annual report; drops in January
  • VU Neighbors—quarterly e-newsletter to University neighbors and friends, featuring news of interest and event information

(*Story ideas for the Villanova Magazine, President’s Report or VU Neighbors can be shared with marian.butcher@villanova.edu.)

MEDIA RELATIONS—Geraghty Hall, First Floor

Director: Jonathan Gust (610-519-6508; jonathan.gust@villanova.edu)

  • Media liaison, managing all University outreach efforts with external media (print, digital, radio and television) 
  • Collaborator with colleges, schools and departments across campus to develop media strategies and press materials that promote distinctive VU initiatives, programs and events 
  • Faculty Expert Program 
  • Villanova in the Media Report for University leadership 
  • Manager of content for Villanova home page news section and Media Room website 
  • Media monitoring and reporting 
  • Outreach with internal campus media, including The Villanovan 
  • Point person on issues management/crisis communications

UNIVERSITY ADVANCEMENT COMMUNICATION—Geraghty Hall, Second Floor

Director: Cheryl Morris (610-519-7892; cheryl.morris@villanova.edu)

  • Management of advancement communications to alumni, parents, donors and friends 
  • Development of alumni and donor outreach campaigns; creation of content and management for all print and digital development and alumni relations communications 
  • Management of email outreach calendar for all University alumni communications; creation and distribution of e-newsletters, including NovaNotes, Heritage Society and Young Alumni 
  • Supervision of University Development and Alumni Relations webpages and social media, including Villanova University Alumni Association, Annual Giving and Villanova Athletic Fund

FINANCE and OPERATIONS—Griffin Hall, First Floor

Director: Bob Mullen (610-519-4168; robert.mullen@villanova.edu)

  • UCM budget development and quarterly financial projections 
  • Departmental contract and vendor management 
  • Liaison with Human Resources; Budget, Procurement, Facilities Management, and Insurance and Risk Management offices; General Counsel; and UNIT

OFFICE OF THE PROVOST COMMUNICATION—Griffin Hall, Second Floor

Director: Kate Johnston (610-519-7574; kate.johnston@villanova.edu)

COLLEGE COMMUNICATIONS—Various Locations

College Communications Directors:

College of Liberal Arts and Sciences: Jennifer Schu (610-519-6252; jennifer.schu@villanova.edu)
College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Graduate Programs: Jim Mack (610.519.7095; james.mack@villanova.edu
Villanova School of Business: Cathy Toner (610-519-6678; cathy.toner@villanova.edu)
College of Engineering: Kim Shimer (610-519-4607; kimberly.shimer@villanova.edu)
Villanova University Charles Widger School of Law: Julie Toth (610.519.3997; julie.toth@villanova.edu)
M. Louise Fitzpatrick College of Nursing: Ann McKenzie (610-519-6814; ann.mckenzie@villanova.edu)
College of Professional Studies: Kelly Grentz (610-519-8401; kelly.grentz@villanova.edu)

OTHER COMMUNICATIONS RESOURCES ON CAMPUS

  • Wildcat Newswire: daily news and events email for students managed by the Dean of Students Office 
  • Events Calendar managed by UNIT 
  • Video production work (filming, editing, sound capabilities): Jennifer Pohlhaus, director of Multimedia Technologies, UNIT (610-519-5175; jennifer.pohlhaus@villanova.edu
  • Digital signage (throughout University buildings): Ashish Desai, assistant director of Multimedia Technologies, UNIT (610-519-7502; ashish.desai@villanova.edu)