Skip to main content

Therese Wenzel Award

Therese Celine Wenzel (Aug 15,1938 - June 20,1995) was the former Coordinator of Project Sunshine, now Rays of Sunshine, who's life was cut short. Each recipient receives a certificate in her honor signed by the Vice President of Student Life and the Director of Student Development. The certificate is awarded with a $100 check.



The Therese Celine Wenzel Service Award is awarded to graduating Senior(s) who have shown commitment to service throughout their four years at Villanova University. The criteria for receiving this award is based on:

  • understanding diverse populations,
  • respecting the needs of the poor,
  • educating other students about the importance of serving,
  • being an active participate in all areas of Rays of Sunshine.

Eligible Rays of Sunshine members vote online for the senior members that typify this award. The award is presented in May.

Sunshine Image

Award Recipients

2018: Denisa Wartinbee

2017: Victoria Ayoola 

2016: Deaysha Shabray

2013: Carlos Cortez.
          Haile Bennett
          Lindsay Michael

2011: Benjamin Holeman

2008: Nicole Zahradka 
          Amy Tam 
          Caitlin Devlin
          Eric Melchior

2007: Shreya Amin
          Jamie Berg
          Merin Mathew
          Shawn Rawlins

2006: Jaime Gentile
          Kimberly Jean
          Erin Lembo

2005: Vu Do
          Christine Kowalski

1999: Christina Boyko
          Jill Kelley
          Jill Lentz

1998: Michael Watson
          Elizabeth McLaughlin
          Dennis Morrone