Sponsored by the U.S. Department of State’s Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, the Benjamin A. Gilman International Scholarship Program aims to diversify students who study and intern abroad as well as the countries and regions where they go by offering awards to U.S. undergraduates who might otherwise not participate due to financial constraints.

  • Eligibility at a glance
    • Receiving (or will receive) a Federal Pell Grant at the time of application or during the term of his/her study abroad program or internship
  • Deadlines
    • Students can study and intern abroad during spring, summer, fall or academic year term
  • Award Benefits
    • Approximately $4,000 for fall and spring programs and $3,000 for summer programs
    • Critical Need Language Award
      • Applicants who are studying a critical need language while abroad in a country in which the language is predominantly spoken will automatically be considered
      • Total award of $8,000

Before Applying

  1. Make an appointment with JJ Shanley (
  2. Visit the VU Office of Education Abroad

Villanova Recipients

Student Year Country
Wendy Wang
2017 South Korea
Fares Sukkar 2017 Switzerland
Nkiambi Sokolo 2017 South Korea
Abigail Smith 2017 Peru
Pablo Guzman 2017 Japan
Kofi Asamoah   2017 Ghana
Si Ja Liu (Alternate) 2017 China
William Elmore
2016 China
Oluwasemilore Ibirogba 2016 United Kingdom
Joshua Kim
2016 South Korea
Kathleen Moon 2016 South Korea
Michael Morrow 2016 Germany
Kerlyn Rodriguez 2016 United Kingdom
Jorna Sojati 2016
United Kingdom
Tri Nguyen 2015 Costa Rica
Sarra Son 2015 China
Dylan Le 2015 South Korea
Fatima Doumbia 2015 China
Cristal Santos 2015 Peru
Fiona Chambers 2015 Denmark
Ashley Poon 2014 China
Neil Patel 2014
Czech Republic
Gina Mancini 2014 Italy
Nyasia White 2014 Madagascar
Michael Kaufman 2014 United Kingdom
Enmanuel Almonte 2014 Singapore
Ava Calvano 2013 Australia
Christian Diaz 2013 Chile
Rickie Zheng 2013 China
Jennifer Zhu
Peiyu Lin 2012
Tina Ley 2012 China
Jacklynn Wong 2012 Denmark/Finland/Latvia
Casey Richards 2012 Japan
Stephanie Cheung 2011 China