Skip to main content

Villanova Law Faculty Recently Elected Members of The American Law Institute

VLS Seal


The American Law Institute announces Michelle Madden Dempsey, Associate Dean of Faculty Research and Development, as one of 72 recently elected members. These highly regarded judges, lawyers and law professors were confidentially nominated by their peers, vetted by the Membership Committee and elected by the ALI Council. Membership is a distinct professional honor reserved to those individuals who reflect the excellence and diversity of today’s legal profession.

Dempsey joined Villanova in 2009, after teaching at the University of Oxford, where she was a University Lecturer (CUF) in Law and Tutorial Fellow. She teaches and writes in the areas of criminal law, feminist legal theory and jurisprudence.

Among other recently elected members is Villanova’s Professor of Law Ann C. Juliano, elected in 2013. Juliano joined the Law School faculty in 1998, and her teaching and research interests are in the fields of Indian Law and Civil Rights.

Dempsey and Juliano join the ranks of several Villanova Law professors in the ALI, including Richard Booth, Steven L Chanenson, Joseph W. Dellapenna and Walter John Taggart.

The American Law Institute is the leading independent organization in the United States producing scholarly work to clarify, modernize and improve the law. By participating in the Institute’s work, its distinguished members have the opportunity to influence the development of the law in both existing and emerging areas; to work with other eminent lawyers, judges and academics; to give back to a profession to which they are deeply dedicated; and to contribute to the public good.