Bethany Brooks ‘15 and Nicole Pedi ’15 Win 55th Annual Reimel Moot Court Competition

Reimels 2014
Nicole Pedi ’15 (left) and Bethany Brooks ‘15 (right), winners of the 55th annual Reimel Moot Court Competition, pose with this year's judges.
Reimels 2014
Peter Jennings ’16 (seated) and Zachary Stirparo ’16 (standing), this year's runners-up, argue their case.

Bethany Brooks ‘15 and Nicole Pedi ’15 are the winners of the 55th annual Theodore L. Reimel Moot Court Competition. The competition is an intra-school tournament that has become a hallmark of the Villanova Law experience. Named in honor of the late Theodore L. Reimel, Judge for the Pennsylvania Court of Common Pleas from 1953 to 1973, the competition begins each September with approximately 100 teams of second and third year students, and culminates with the final argument between the competition's two best teams. 

Nicole Pedi was also named Best Oralist. Zachary Stirparo ’16 and Peter Jennings ’16 were the competition’s runners-up.

This year’s judges, who presided over the final round, included:

The Honorable J. Michael Eakin
Justice, Supreme Court of Pennsylvania

The Honorable Cheryl A. Krause
Judge, United States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit

The Honorable Frederick J. Lauten ’79
Chief Judge, Ninth Judicial Circuit Court of the State of Florida

The Honorable Edward G. Rendell ’68
Former Governor, Commonwealth of Pennsylvania
Former Mayor, City of Philadelphia

The Reimel Moot Court Competition is designed to foster student development in written and oral advocacy through simulated appellate argument. Former jurists for the final round of the Reimel competition have included Chief Justice William H. Rehnquist and Justices Samuel A. Alito, Antonin Scalia, William O. Douglas and Thurgood Marshall.