MSAL Group


Our people

The group consists of B.S., M.S., and Ph.D. students, and postdoctoral researchers, who work on projects related to energy efficiency, energy storage, and sustainable engineering.


Aaron P. Wemhoff, Ph.D. Associate Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering

Director, NSF I/UCRC in Energy-Smart Electronic Systems (ES2)

Postdoctoral Fellows

No current postdoctoral researchers

Ph.D. Students

  • Sebastian Araya, Graduate Research Assistant (Co-advised by Dr. Gerard Jones).
  • Carol Caceres, Graduate Research Assistant (Advisor: Dr. Gerard Jones)
  • Li Chen; Graduate Research Assistant
  • Tao Dai; Graduate Research Assistant (co-advised by Drs. Ross Lee and Amy Fleischer)
  • Rehan Khalid; Graduate Research Assistant
  • Vaidehi Oruganti, Graduate Research Assitant (Advisor: Dr. Gerard Jones)
  • Felipe Valenzuela, Graduate Research Assistant (Co-advised by Dr. Gerard Jones).

Masters Students

Faisal Ahmed; Graduate Research Assistant

Lucy Baron; Graduate Research Assistant, Sustainable Engineering Program (Advisor: Dr. Ross Lee)

Undergraduate Students

Anthony Etim, Undergraduate Research Assistant   

Julia Marotta, Undergraduate Research Assistant 

Lucas Arrivo, Undergraduate Research Assistant


  • Dr. Gang Feng, Associate Professor, Dept. of Mechanical Engineering, Villanova University
  • Dr. Abdullatif Gari, Faculty Member, King Abdul University, Saudi Arabia
  • Dr. Gerard Jones, Sr. Associate Dean of Graduate Studies and Research, College of Engineering, Villanova University
  • Dr. Amy Fleischer, Dean, College of Engineering, Cal Poly San Luis Obispo
  • Dr. Yogendra Joshi, Johm M. McKenney and Warren D. Shiver Distinguished Chair in Building Mechanical Systems and Professor, College of Mechanical Engineering, Georgia Tech
  • Dr. Ross Lee, Sustainable Engineering Program, Villanova University
  • Dr. Alfonso Ortega, Professor and Birle Chair in Energy Systems, Villanova University.