Skip to main content

Philosophy Awards

Through the support of a generous donor, the Department of Philosophy is pleased to offer the Lafayette Award, named in honor of a beloved residence that hosted many lively philosophy discussions.  This award recognizes an undergraduate student whose work bridges the theoretical components of philosophy with the practical.  First generation college students who are juniors or seniors may apply for the award.  Nominees and self-nominees are welcome.  Please use the online form to nominate a student.  All nominees will be invited submit a brief statement (500 words or less) about how Philosophy is active in their lives (bridging the theoretical and the practical). The award consists of a plaque and a monetary prize of $500.  Up to two awards are given each year.   

Current Recipients:
Ariana M. Ramos - Spring 2020
Darrel J. Suarez-White - Spring 2020

Past Recipients:
Allison Garippa - Spring 2019

In recognition of her ability to inspire students in the study of the history of philosophy, the Department of Philosophy is pleased to offer the Helen S. Lang History of Philosophy Award. This award recognizes an exceptional undergraduate philosophy student who has demonstrated excellence in the study of the history of philosophy broadly construed.  This award recognizes work that demonstrates intellectual excellence and passion.  Only graduating senior philosophy majors are eligible for the award.  To be considered for the award, students must complete the Department assessment portfolio.  Overall GPA requirement 3.0 or higher; GPA within the major will normally be 3.5 or higher.  Any faculty member in the Department may nominate a student for the award.  Nominees should submit two (2) papers that best reflect their work in a history of philosophy course taken at Villanova as well as a one (1) page double-spaced (approximately 250 words) statement about their interests in and work in the history of philosophy.  The award consists of a plaque and monetary prize of $500.   This award is made possible through the generous support of the Lang family.

Current Recipient:
Brett R. Schratz - Spring 2020

Past Recipients:
James Benecke - Spring 2019