Faculty Awards

Our Humanities faculty have been recognized for their outstanding contributions in their fields. Here are some of our recent faculty awards:

  • Drs. Thomas W. Smith and Kevin Hughes, the first two chairs of the Department of Humanities, 2018 papal Cross pro Ecclesia et Pontifice
  • Dr. James Matthew Wilson, 2017 Hiett Prize in the Humanities, Dallas Institute of Humanities and Culture
  • Dr. Margaret Grubiak, 2017 Catherine Bishir Prize for Best Article in Vernacular Architecture, Vernacular Architecture Forum
  • Dr. Michael Tomko, 2016 Book of the Year Award, The Conference on Christianity & Literature
  • Dr. Michael Tomko, 2016 Tolle Lege Teaching Award, College of Liberal Arts & Sciences, Villanova University
  • Dr. Jesse Couenhoven, 2016-17 Research Fellow, Center for Theological Inquiry
  • Dr. Anna Moreland, 2016-17 Mary Ann Remick Senior Fellow, Center for Ethics and Culture, University of Notre Dame
  • Dr. Anna Moreland, 2015-16 Meyser Fellow, Center for Ethics and Culture, University of Notre Dame
  • Dr. Mary Hirschfeld, 2013 Induction into College of Fellows and bestowal of Doctor of Humane Letters, Dominican School of Philosophy and Theology

Contact Us

Department of Humanities

St. Augustine Center Room 304
Villanova University 
800 Lancaster Avenue
Villanova, PA 19085 
Phone: 610.519.6165
Fax: 610.519.5307
Email: humanities@villanova.edu 

ChairpersonDr. Michael Tomko

Administrative AssistantLuisa Ruggieri