Lambda Pi Eta

lambda pi eta logo

Villanova University’s Communication Department is proud to offer its students the possibility of membership in Lambda Pi Eta, the national honor society for students studying Communication. There are currently over 400 chapters of this honor society worldwide—and Villanova’s Alpha Rho chapter, the 41st chapter, was founded in 1993.

Lambda Pi Eta is an excellent way for our students to connect to the most prestigious organization for Communication teachers and scholars, the National Communication Association —and inducted members proudly wear the LPH honors cord at Villanova’s graduation ceremony, so that they can be publicly recognized for their academic and personal excellence.

To be inducted the following is required:

  • An overall GPA of 3.0
  • A Communication GPA of 3.25
  • Completion of 12 credits of Communication coursework
  • Completion of 60 hours of coursework overall
  • At least 24 service points
  • Certificate dues (NCA): $75
  • Good university standing
  • Other at the board's discretion

For more on induction requirements, click here.

The mission of Lambda Pi Eta is to:

  • Recognize, foster, and reward outstanding scholastic achievement
  • Stimulate interest in the field of communication
  • Promote and encourage professional development among communication majors
  • Provide an opportunity to discuss and exchange ideas about the field
  • Establish and maintain close relationships and understanding between faculty and students
  • And explore options for further graduate studies

Lambda Pi Eta Leadership

Villanova’s Alpha Rho chapter of Lambda Pi Eta is a student-run organization, which means that our chapter relies on the strength and generosity of those students who are willing to serve in a variety of leadership capacities.

Lambda Pi Eta Leadership – 2016-2017

President - Hayley Susino

Career Development:
Senior Chair - Sheila McLaughlin
Junior Chair - Katherine Allen

Communication Outreach/Special Events:
Senior Chair - MaryRose Daily
Junior Chair - Molly Reff

VCAN Connect Alumni Newsletter:
Senior Chair - Colleen Knudsen
Junior Chair - Caroline Ibarra

Society Secretary:
Madeleine Suszka

Faculty Advisor:
Dr. Jie Xu

If you have questions about the honor society, or induction, please contact the faculty advisor, or any of the student leaders listed above.