Congratulations to the 2016 Department of Chemistry Student Award Winners!

  • Lawson Wilkinson: CRC Press Freshman Chemistry Award; Awarded to an Outstanding Freshman Chemistry Major
  • Ryan Allen: POLYED Outstanding Achievement in Organic Chemistry; Awarded to an Outstanding Sophomore Organic Chemistry Student
  • Daniel Zuschlag: Undergraduate Award in Analytical Chemistry; presented by ACS Division of Analytical Chemistry; Awarded to an Outstanding Sophomore Analytical Chemistry Student.
  • Erin Peterson: Undergraduate Award in Inorganic Chemistry; presented by ACS Division of Inorganic Chemistry; Awarded to an Outstanding Junior Inorganic Chemistry Student.
  • Anna Briker: Outstanding Junior Biochemistry Student Award; presented by Chemistry Department; Awarded to an Outstanding Junior Biochemistry Student.
  • Celina Santiago: Undergraduate Award in Organic Chemistry; presented by ACS Division of Organic Chemistry; Awarded to an Outstanding Senior Organic Chemistry Student.
  • Anthony Iannetta; Oliver Ludwig Physical Chemistry Award; Awarded to an Outstanding Physical Chemistry Student.
  • Jake Prus: Outstanding Senior Biochemistry Student; presented by Chemistry Department; Awarded to an Outstanding Senior Biochemistry Student.
  • Sean Longson: American Institute of Chemists Award (Chemistry); Awarded to an Outstanding Senior Chemistry Student.
  • Jani Swiatek: American Institute of Chemists Award (Biochemistry); Awarded to Outstanding Senior Biochemistry Student.
  • Eden Reichard: American Institute of Chemists Award; (Graduate); Awarded to Outstanding Graduate Student in Chemistry.
  • Carina Fairfield: American Chemical Society Award; Awarded to a Top-ranked Senior Majoring in Chemistry.
  • Nicholas Janigian: Biochemistry Award for Leadership and Service.
  • Anthony Iannetta: G.N. Quam Award - College Medallion in Chemistry; Awarded Based on Highest GPA in Chemistry.
  • Rishi Chauhan: Rosalind Franklin Award – College Medallion in Biochemistry Awarded Based on Highest GPA in Biochemistry.

The Junior Faculty Award for Excellence in Teaching is presented to a faculty member who has been in a full time position for less than seven years and has developed extraordinarily effective teaching approaches. Dr. Eggler teaches Metabolism, Signal Transduction, and several Biochemistry lab courses. Her teaching philosophy centers on significant student-teacher interaction, well-defined learning objectives, and both established and innovative active learning techniques to engage students and encourage retention of material. For the Metabolism class, Dr. Eggler applied concepts on teaching the logic of metabolic pathways and reactions, from two papers published in Nature Chemical Biology in 2012. These teaching methodologies transform the subject of Metabolism, from pathways that need to be memorized to a deep understanding of the logic of how bodies transform food into energy and other molecules to meet the needs of life. Dr. Eggler also mentors undergraduate and masters students in her research lab, where they investigate questions about how molecules in superfoods turn on the body’s own antioxidant and detoxification systems.

The Villanova University Faculty Award for Innovative Teaching Award is presented to a full-time professor whose courses employ creative techniques to enhance student learning and growth.  Since 2005, Dr. Lagalante has been building a program at  Villanova in Cultural Heritage Science that spans from undergraduate teachings to graduate student research, and has received international acclaim on specific conservation projects undertaken; such as Villanova’s own The Triumph of David.  He is also adjunct faculty in the Department of Art Conservation at the University of Delaware/Wintherthur M.S. program. Here at Villanova, he instructs a variety of courses ranging from a graduate course in Mass Spectrometry, to a Mendel Science Experience course in the Science of Paintings, to an co-instructed Art History course in understanding Renaissance Art through Science.  Long before he was a scientist, he was an artist, and in his teachings, he strives to heighten students’ appreciation and understanding of art as it relates to technological advances throughout the centuries, as well as the intersections of science and technology in creating, viewing, and understanding, authenticating, conserving and restoring works of art.  He has conducted workshops on his teaching methods for U.S. Chemistry Professors through the National Science Foundation Chemistry Collaborations, Workshops & Communities of Scholars, and the aqueous cleaning methods for modern art he co-developed with Richard Wolbers are taught through workshops to Museum Conservators worldwide.

Congratulations to Team Life Safety Box!  Alice Lenthe, Eric Welsh (both of the Department of Environmental Health and Safety), Cian Watts and Eydiejo Kurchan (both of the Department of Chemistry) were recognized with the Team Distinguished Service Award.  This award is given to a Team (must be from two departments or more) that shows consistent excellence, exceptional performance and performs an activity which significantly enhances our sense of community or fosters a community spirit.  Life Safety Boxes improve the culture of safety at Villanova by containing information that is invaluable to first responders should an accident happen in a research or instructional laboratory.  The combined efforts of the Department of Environmental Health and Safety and the Department of Chemistry have implemented these Life Safety Boxes at the entrance to every active Lab on the Villanova campus.  The team was honored at a luncheon with Father Peter.

Villanova Chemistry at a Glance:

Degrees Offered: B.S., M.S.
Full Time Faculty: 27
Undergraduate Majors: 150
Graduate Students: 25 full-time, 35 part-time
Building: Mendel Science Center houses research and instructional facilities for 6 scientific departments, including 17 chemistry research labs, as well as an array of modern instrumentation