Skip to main content

Fr. Edward F. Jenkins, O.S.A. Scholarship Award

Edward F. Jenkins

The Father Edward F. Jenkins, O.S.A. Scholarship Award is presented annually to an upper-class Astronomy & Astrophysics major who has demonstrated outstanding academic achievement.  The award is named for the founder of the Department of Astrophysics & Planetary Science, the Augustinian friar Fr. Edward Felix Jenkins, O.S.A. (1906-1991).

Fr. Jenkins was ordained a priest of the Order of Saint Augustine in June 1931.  He became an instructor in chemistry at Villanova University in 1935, while completing his doctoral work in chemistry.  He received his doctorate in 1939.  Following a lifelong passion for astronomy, Fr. Jenkins learned the art of lens grinding and telescope construction from close friend Edwin F. Bailey of the Franklin Institute of Philadelphia.  The two constructed a telescope which was mounted in a make-shift observatory (a converted grain silo!) on top of Tolentine Hall.  Due to Fr. Jenkins’ influence, the new Mendel Science Center, completed in 1961, was equipped with both a planetarium and an observatory and the University instituted a degree program in astronomy.  Fr. Jenkins served as chairman of the Department until 1974, and continued as an active member of the Department until shortly before his death. 

 The current cash value of the Jenkins Scholarship Award is approximately $12,000.    Contributions to the Jenkins fund are still being accepted.  For additional information, please contact the Departmental Office at 610-519-4820. 


Recipients of the Jenkins Scholarship Award:


1986          Joseph P. McMullen

1987          Edwin A. Bergin, Jr.; Matthew L. Fritz

1988          Edwin A. Bergin, Jr.; Matthew L. Fritz

1989          Keith A. Scollick

1990          Keith A. Scollick

1991          Keith A. Scollick;  Keith A. Miller

1992          Keith A. Miller; Daniel M. Griffith; Marc C. Sugars

1993          James J. Marshall; Brian P. Abbott

1994          James J. Marshall; Brian P. Abbott; Nicholas D. Morgan; Quyen T. Nguyen

1995          James J. Marshall; Nicholas D. Morgan

1996          Nicholas D. Morgan

1997          Rahul Mittal; Paul DiTuro

1998          Paul DiTuro; Colleen K. Henry; Joseph DePasquale

1999          Colleen K. Henry; John J. Bochanski, Jr.

2000          John J. Bochanski, Jr.; Jeremy Sepinsky; Jeffrey C. Tracy

2001          John J. Bochanski, Jr.; Jolleen K. Miller; Kelly J. Kolb

2002          Jolleen K. Miller

2003          Jolleen K. Miller; Kelly J. Kolb

2004          Ryan A. Hamilton

2005          Nicholas P. Hollon; Robert T. Zellem

2006          Nicholas P. Hollon; Robert T. Zellem

2007          Robert T. Zellem; Ian M. Bozant

2008          Heather A. Stewart; Ronald-Louis Ballouz

2009          Janine A. Myszka; Kyle E. Conroy; Nicole M. Zimmerman

2010          Jared W. Coughlin

2011          Allyn J. Durbin; Janine A. Myszka

2012          Allyn J. Durbin

2013          Cole C. Johnston

2014          Anna C. Marion

2015          Griffin B. Werner

2016          Valerie E. Bernstein; Marcus P. Katynski

2017          Elizabeth Johnson; Liam Jones

2018          Joseph M. Michail

2019          Tyler Kline