Skip to main content

Student Awards

The Department of Astrophysics & Planetary Science offers four awards to outstanding Astronomy & Astrophysics majors. These are: the Father Edward F. Jenkins, O.S.A. Scholarship Award, the Edwin F. Bailey Scholarship Award, the Jason A. Cardelli Memorial Award for Undergraduate Research, and the Loring & Beulah Baker and John & Gertrude Maloney Mission Prize.  The recipients of the Jenkins, Bailey and Cardelli awards are determined by a vote of the faculty and the prizes include a financial award.  The Baker and Maloney Prize winner is determined by representatives of the Baker and Maloney families and also receives a financial award. In addition, the College of Liberal Arts and Science annually presents the Father Edward F. Jenkins, O.S.A. Medallion Award for Excellence in Astronomy  to an outstanding graduating senior majoring in Astronomy & Astrophysics.


Click on the links below to see the details for each award and a list of the recipients: