QPR TRAINING (SUICIDE PREVENTION)

Villanova University offers QPR Training – Question, Persuade, Refer. QPR is a Suicide Prevention Tool that anyone can learn and use. Just like CPR, QPR is an emergency response to someone in crisis and can save lives. QPR is the most widely taught Gatekeeper Training in the world. More information can be found on the QPR Institute website.

Training Opportunities:

Villanova has many trainers available to provide a 60- to 90-minute QPR training for you or your department or group of staff and/or students. To participate in a QPR training, you may:

  • Contact one of the trained QPR facilitators listed below to set up a QPR training for your department or group. It will be your responsibility to reserve a room and to notify your group members of the time/date/location of the training.
  • Email Lael McGann in Student Life to request a QPR training for your group or department. We will provide the Trainer(s) for the training and you will reserve a room and notify your group members of the time/date/location of the training.
  • Email Lael McGann to sign up individually for an open QPR training on campus

A training session may not exceed 35 participants.
 

Campus Resources:

University Counseling Center
610-519-4050
Bereavement Group 610-519-4050
Student Health Center
(Open 24/7 when classes are in session)
610-519-4070
Dean of Students Office
610-519-4200
Health Promotion 610-519-7407
Campus Ministry
610-519-4080
Residence Life Your R.A. / 610-519-4154

QPR Trained Facilitators:

Name
Department
Contact Email
Sue Ellen Alderman College of Nursing sueellen.alderman@villanova.edu
Stacy Andes Health Promotion stacy.andes@villanova.edu
Hedya Aryani General Counsel’s Office hedya.aryani@villanova.edu
Eloise Berry Intercultural Affairs eloise.berry@villanova.edu
Kathy Byrnes Student Life kathleen.byrnes@villanova.edu
Laura Cermignano Student Health Center laura.cermignano@villanova.edu
Nicole Davis CASA nicole.davis@villanova.edu
Tom DeMarco Dean of Students tom.demarco@villanova.edu
John Edwards Campus Ministry john.p.edwards@villanova.edu
Dillon Eppenstein Residence Life dillon.eppenstein@villanova.edu
Olivia Farkas Fraternity & Sorority Life olivia.farkas@villanova.edu
Michele Gianforcaro School of Business michele.gianforcaro@villanova.edu
Fr. Rob Hagan, OSA Athletics robert.hagan@villanova.edu
Emily Harris Learning Support Services emily.f.harris@villanova.edu
Stephen Jones College of Engineering stephen.jones@villanova.edu
Susan Leighton College of Professional Studies susan.leighton@villanova.edu
Jen Liberato Residence Life jennifer.liberato@villanova.edu
Matthew Marencik Disabilities Services matthew.marencik@villanova.edu
Crispin May UNIT crispin.may@villanova.edu
Charisma Presley Liberal Arts & Sciences charisma.presley@villanova.edu
Ryan Rost Title IX Coordinator ryan.rost@villanova.edu
Chris Schmidt Liberal Arts & Sciences christopher.schmidt@villanova.edu
Beth Sokolowski Music Activities elizabeth.sokolowski@villanova.edu
Barbara Stephen College of Nursing barbara.stephen@villanova.edu
Allison Venella Athletics allison.venella@villanova.edu
Edward Wahesh Clinical Mental Health Counseling edward.wahesh@villanova.edu
Nancy Whalen Villanova Law School whalen@law.villanova.edu
University Counseling Center Staff      
Contact Email
Luciana MacNamara luciana.macnamara@villanova.edu
Julie Neudeck julie.neudeck@villanova.edu
Candice Post candice.post@villanova.edu
Tori Ostroff victoria.ostroff@villanova.edu
Tedd Riccio edmund.riccio@villanova.edu
Tyme Rodriguez tyme.rodriguez@villanova.edu
Natalie Sheridan natalie.sheridan@villanova.edu
Julia Stein julia.stein@villanova.edu
Joan Whitney joan.whitney@villanova.edu

EMERGENCY RESOURCES

National Suicide Prevention Hotline (24/7): 800-273-8255; https://suicidepreventionlifeline.org

Villanova Public Safety: 610-519-4444

Off-Campus: Call 911

EMERGENCY CONTACTS

 

In an emergency, call Villanova Public Safety at 610-519-4444.

National Suicide Prevention Lifeline: 1-800-273-8255 (800-273-TALK)