2018 Mendel Medal Recipient

An internationally renowned pioneer in climate change research, Veerabhadran Ramanathan, PhD, Distinguished Professor of Atmospheric and Climate Sciences at the Scripps Institution of Oceanography, University of California, San Diego, received the 2018 Mendel Medal.

In the 90 years since its inception, the award was given annually from 1929 to 1943, bestowed eight times between 1946 and 1968, and then reestablished in 1992 after a 25-year hiatus as part of Villanova’s sesquicentennial celebrations.

Mendel Medal, a gold coin with Gregor Mendel wearing the Augustinian habit examining a sweet-pea with a microscope beside him

The Mendel Medal was designed by John Sinnock, the eighth chief engraver of the US Mint.


1929 first year Mendel Medal was awarded

47 recipients awarded

6 Nobel Laureates received the Mendel Medal

The Mendel Medal is a symbol of Villanova’s choice to celebrate the compatibility of science and religion by honoring outstanding scientists who have given practical demonstration of the fact that between true science and true religion there is no intrinsic conflict.”

The Rev. Kail C. Ellis, OSA, PhD, special assistant to the President and dean emeritus of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences