Outstanding Faculty Research Award

The Outstanding Faculty Research Award

In recognition of the central importance of scholarship to Villanova’s academic excellence, the University annually presents the Outstanding Faculty Research Award to a member of the faculty who demonstrates the highest standards of excellence in their research, scholarship, and contributions to their field. The scholar receives an honorarium and a certificate attesting to this award at a formal dinner in the spring and is presented to the university at the spring commencement. Under a newly instituted policy, a nomination may remain active for a total of three years. An updated vita and new references may be provided by the nominee each year of consideration.

Eligibility for the Award:

  • Recipients of the award will be individuals who have established a national and international scholarly reputation in their field as evidenced by their publications in highly cited journals, invited presentations at national and international symposia, leadership in research consortia and centers, invited academic colloquium presentations, and similar scholarly activities that indicate stature in their field.
    • All full-time faculty members in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, College of Engineering, College of Nursing, and Villanova School of Business who hold the rank of Tenured Full Professor are eligible for the award.
    • Nominees should have spent at least ten years of their career at Villanova University.
    • The award is presented based on the scholarly activity of the faculty member while on the faculty of Villanova University.  Scholarly work completed when the nominee was not on the Villanova faculty is not formally considered.
    • No individual may receive the award more than once.

Letter of Nomination:

  • A formal letter of nomination may be submitted by an individual or a group of full-time Villanova faculty members.
  • The letter should be submitted as a Word document addressed to Dr. Alfonso Ortega, Associate Vice President for Research and Graduate Programs, and submitted via email to avprgp@villanova.edu by 5:00 pm EST annually on the first Friday in November. 
  • The letter of nomination should include a narrative presenting a description of the nominee’s qualifications for consideration, the significance of his or her scholarship, and an explanation of its originality and impact in its field.
  • All nominees will be contacted and asked to submit supporting materials such as a current Vita and sample publications.

 Selection Committee

The recipient is selected by a committee consisting of the Associate Vice President for Research and Graduate Programs, previous award recipients, and a representative of the Committee on Faculty.

Award Recipients Since 1981

Dr. José R. de la Vega - 1981

Dr. Ingeborg L. Ward - 1981

Dr. John D. Caputo - 1982

Dr. Roman Maksymowych - 1982

Dr. Edward F. Guinan - 1983

Dr. Robert L. Grob - 1983

Dr. George T. Radan - 1984

Dr. Bernard F. Reilly - 1984

Dr. Alain J. Phares - 1986

Dr. Wayne G. Bremser - 1987

Dr. Walter E. Conn - 1987

Dr. Gerald M. Long - 1988

Dr. Rodger Van Allen - 1988

Dr. Edward M. Sion - 1989

Dr. Philip J. Stephens - 1989

Dr. Lucy McDiarmid - 1990

Dr. Charles E. Zech - 1990

Dr. Thomas W. Busch - 1991

Dr. Rachel T. Hare-Mustin - 1991

Dr. Matthew J. Liberatore - 1992

Dr. Bernard J. Gallagher III - 1993

Dr. George P. McCook - 1994

Dr. Vincent B. Sherry - 1994

Dr. R. Kelman Wieder - 1995

Dr. Andrew Woldar - 1996

Dr. Moeness Amin - 1997

Dr. Jeffrey W. Hahn - 1998

Dr. Richard N. Juliani - 1999

Dr. Michael F. Brown - 2001

Dr. Aaron M. Bauer - 2002

Dr. John A. Pearce II - 2003

Dr. Ann Mosely Lesch - 2004

Dr. Mary Desmond - 2005

Dr. Suzanne Smeltzer - 2006

Dr. Ahmad Hoorfar - 2007

Dr. Robert H. DeFina - 2008

Dr. Charles R. Taylor - 2009

Dr. Charles L. Folk - 2010

Dr. Robert T. Jantzen - 2011

Dr. Ronald Paul Hill - 2012

Dr. C. Nataraj - 2013

Dr. Sally J. Scholz - 2014

Contact Us

Office of Research and Graduate Programs
Tolentine Hall, Room 101
Villanova University
800 Lancaster Avenue
Villanova, PA 19085

Dr. Alfonso Ortega
Associate VP Research/Grad Prgrms
Email: alfonso.ortega@villanova.edu
Phone: 610-519-7440

Dr. R. Kelman Wieder
Assistant VP
Research/Strategic Initiatives
Email: kelman.wieder@villanova.edu
Phone:  610-519-4856

Mary Lou Glenn
Senior Administrative Assistant
Email: marylou.glenn@villanova.edu
Phone: 610-519-5858

Research Administration Staff

Undergraduate Research Staff