The Outstanding Faculty Research Award

Villanova University, as befits all universities, has as one of its primary objectives the discovery of new knowledge. Support for the scholarly activity of its faculty within the well-known teacher-scholar model is evident in many forms.

The University routinely grants sabbatical leaves and teaching reductions; it supports summer faculty research programs; it maintains an Office of Research and Sponsored Projects to assist faculty in preparing research proposals and managing grants; and it explicitly stipulates scholarly research in its formal considerations regarding faculty evaluation (e.g., tenure, promotion, and merit). In short, scholarly research is integral to the University’s mission. Thus, it is appropriate that those faculty members who have become outstanding scholars should receive clear recognition for their accomplishments.

The Outstanding Faculty Research Award is administered by the Dean of Graduate Studies of the College of Liberal Arts & Sciences. The recipient is selected by a committee of previous award recipients plus a representative of the Committee on Faculty. The award includes an honorarium, a medallion presented at commencement ceremonies in May, and a certificate presented at a formal luncheon. The recipient also delivers a lecture as part of the Falvey Library lecture series.

Award Recipients Since 1981

Award Winners Date
Dr. José R. de la Vega 1981
Dr. Ingeborg L. Ward 1981
Dr. John D. Caputo 1982
Dr. Roman Maksymowych 1982
Dr. Edward F. Guinan 1983
Dr. Robert L. Grob 1983
Dr. George T. Radan 1984
Dr. Bernard F. Reilly 1984
Dr. Alain J. Phares 1986
Dr. Wayne G. Bremser 1987
Dr. Walter E. Conn 1987
Dr. Gerald M. Long 1988
Dr. Rodger Van Allen 1988
Dr. Edward M. Sion 1989
Dr. Philip J. Stephens 1989
Dr. Lucy McDiarmid 1990
Dr. Charles E. Zech 1990
Dr. Thomas W. Busch   1991
Dr. Rachel T. Hare-Mustin 1991
Dr. Matthew J. Liberatore 1992
Dr. Bernard J. Gallagher III 1993
Dr. George P. McCook 1994
Dr. Vincent B. Sherry 1994
Dr. R. Kelman Wieder 1995
Dr. Andrew Woldar 1996
Dr. Moeness Amin 1997
Dr. Jeffrey W. Hahn 1998
Dr. Richard N. Juliani 1999
Dr. Michael F. Brown 2001
Dr. Aaron M. Bauer 2002
Dr. John A. Pearce II 2003
Dr. Ann Mosely Lesch 2004
Dr. Mary Desmond 2005
Dr. Suzanne Smeltzer 2006
Dr. Ahmad Hoorfar 2007
Dr. Robert H. DeFina 2008
Dr. Charles R. Taylor 2009
Dr. Charles L. Folk 2010
Dr. Robert T. Jantzen 2011
Dr. Ronald Paul Hill 2012
Dr. C. Nataraj 2013
Dr. Sally J. Scholz 2014


Please download our publications below:

Contact Us

Office of the Vice President
for Academic Affairs

Villanova University
800 Lancaster Avenue
Villanova, PA 19085
Phone: 610.519.4521
Fax: 610.519.6200

Meet Our Staff

The Villanova University Mendel Medal button
awards & honors button
Newspaper Readership program button
Task Force on the Online Undergraduate Degree for Adult Part-Time Students
Grades First Information
University Committee on Internationalization button