Arrival/Departure Dates

Fall 2016 - New Student Move-In

Friday, August 19, 2016 - 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m - Report Directly to Your Residence Hall


Arrival Times
- TBA

For those traveling a distance, please feel free to arrive anytime after your scheduled time. Resident Assistants will be available after 5 p.m. in each hall to assist those who can not arrive until the evening.

Additional check-in hours are available on Saturday, August 20 between 9 a.m. and Noon for those who can not travel on Friday.
 

Fall 2016 - Upperclass Student Move-In

Monday, August 22, 2016 - 10 a.m. - 6 p.m. - Report Directly to Your Hall

Tuesday, August 23, 2016 - 10 a.m. - 3 p.m. - Report Directly to Your Hall

Residence Life cannot approve early arrival for individuals who have transportation concerns, family or work obligations, vacation plans etc.  Please make travel plans accordingly.

In an effort to ensure the safety and security of all community members, the university only permits students who are sponsored by a faculty or staff member for participation in an authorized university activity to reside in the halls prior to scheduled arrival dates. Accordingly, upper-class residents may not arrive before Monday, August 22 unless they are sponsored and participating in an authorized activity.   

Preparing the halls for occupancy requires the coordination of the various University departments including Residence Life, Facilities Management, Custodial Services, Conference Services, Public Safety and the Wildcard Office. This preparation often occurs in a limited window of time and rooms are not released for use by the various departments until the published arrival dates.  As a result, students will not be permitted to drop off items in their room prior to scheduled arrival dates.     


Fall 2016 Housing Calendar

Friday, August 19 
New Student Move-In                                    
Sat. Aug. 20 - Tues. Aug. 23 New Student Orientation
Mon. Aug. 22 (10am-6pm); Tues. Aug 23 (10am-3pm) Upper Class Student Move-In  
Wednesday, August 24
Classes Begin
Monday, September 5
Labor Day - No Class
Saturday, October 8 Residence Halls Close - 12 Noon/Fall Break
Sunday, October 16 Residence Halls Re-open - 12 Noon
Monday, October 17
Classes Resume
Wednesday, November 23 Residence Halls Close - 12 Noon/Thanksgiving Break
Sunday, November 27
Residence Halls Re-open - 12 Noon
Monday, November 28
Classes Resume
Tuesday December 13 Reading Day
Wed. Dec. 14 - Tues. Dec. 20* Final Examinations (No exams Sunday, December 18)
Wednesday, December 21
Residence Halls Close for the Semester - 12 Noon
* All students are expected to depart from the halls within 24 hours of their last examination.

Spring 2017 Housing Calendar

Saturday, January 14 Residence Halls Open at 12 Noon
Monday, January 16 MLK Holiday - No Classes
Tuesday, January 17 Classes Begin
Saturday, March 4 Residence Halls Close at 12 Noon/Spring Break
Saturday, March 11 Residence Halls Reopen at 12 Noon
Monday, March 13 Classes Resume
Thursday, April 13
Residence Halls Close at 12 Noon/Easter Break
Monday, April 17 Residence Halls Reopen at 12 Noon
Tuesday, April 18
Classes Resume
Friday, May 5
Reading Day
Sat.May 6 - Fri. May 12*
Final Examinations (no exams Sunday, May 7)
Saturday, May 13**
Residence Halls Close at 12 Noon
Fri. May 19 - Sat. May 20 Commencement and Baccalaureate
Sunday, May 21 Residence Halls Close for the Semester - 6 pm
* All students are expected to depart from the halls within 24 hours after their last examination.
**All residence halls and apartments close Saturday, May 13 at 12 Noon for students not required to stay on campus for Commencement activities.