Sigma Nu (ΣΝ)

SigmaNu

Sigma Nu Fraternity was founded in 1869 at the Virginia Military Institute. Following the Civil War, the South was struggling through economic turmoil, civil strife, and social unrest. And, during this period, the practice of hazing was commonplace at VMI. In fact, hazing was so rampant, underclassmen were treated as subservient to upperclassmen. Three cadets, who believed strongly in the VMI honor code, “I will neither lie, cheat, or steal, nor tolerate those who do,” felt that the code also included respect for individuals - no matter what their age, class, or rank. Hazing violated this code. They therefore took an oath to form The Legion of Honor, today known as Sigma Nu Fraternity. Sigma Nu is thus the only fraternity in existence founded on the principle of Honor and founded in firm opposition to hazing. Our core principles are Love, Honor, and Truth, and our commitment to these principles bind us together to this day. These ideals, in addition to our strict stance against hazing, have defined the Kappa Zeta Chapter since our chartering in 1983.

To believe in the Life of Love,
To walk in the Way of Honor,
To serve in the Light of Truth -
This is the Life, the Way, and the Light of Sigma Nu -
This is the Creed of our Fraternity.

CHAPTER EXECUTIVE BOARD

POSITION NAME EMAIL
President Raymond Horner rhorner@villanova.edu
Vice President Daniel Tracy dtracy1@villanova.edu
Treasurer Matthew Levine mlevine7@villanova.edu
Philanthropic Chair Stephen Noll snoll1@villanova.edu
Social Chair Kevin Bitar kbitar@villanova.edu
New Member Educator William DiPesa wdipesa@villanova.edu
Scholarship Chair Gregory Travers gtravers@villanova.edu

Contact Info

Assistant Director
Phone: 610.519.7285
Email:

Martin Garcia
Coordinator
Phone: 610.519.7282
Email: martin.garcia@villanova.edu

Marian Moran
Administrative Assistant
Phone: 610.519.7280
Email: marian.moran@villanova.edu

Important Dates

Greek Leak

February Greek Leak

Fraternities (IFC)

Sororities (NPC)

National Pan-Hellenic Council (NPHC)

National Association of Latino Fraternal Organizations (NALFO)

  • Lambda Upsilon Lambda (ΛYΛ)
  • Lambda Theta Alpha (ΛΘΑ)
  • Phi Iota Alpha (ΦΙΑ)

Multicultural, Asian-Interest Sorority