Sigma Chi (ΣΧ)

OUR HISTORY

SigmaChi

Founded at Miami University of Ohio on June 28, 1855 the Sigma Chi Fraternity has since grown to become one of the largest Fraternal organizations in the country. The Fraternity now is comprised of 244 active chapters with  over 300,000 active members. The Kappa Chi chapter of Sigma Chi became chartered on Villanova's campus on December 10th 2005 and has now been a functioning student group within the Villanova community for over 10 years.

OUR VALUES

Friendship, Justice, Learning

EXECUTIVE BOARD

POSITION NAME EMAIL
President Carl Ruppel cruppel@villanova.edu
Vice President Jake Reber jreber@villanova.edu
Treasurer Emmett Simmons esimmon6@villanova.edu
New Member Educator James Casey jcasey18@villanova.edu
Risk Manager Andrew Lynch alynch20@villanova.edu
Annotator Jack Hern jhern@villanova.edu
Recruitment Chair Stephen Corbo scorbo@villanova.edu
Social Chair Dan Ventura dventura@villanova.edu
Social Chair Nick testa ntesta1@villanova.edu
Scholarship Chair Ian Morris imorris@villanova.edu

OUR PHILANTHROPY

The Sigma Chi Fraternity National is proud to support Derby Days, a seven-day philanthropy event sponsored each Spring Semester to raise money for the Huntsman Cancer Institute. Derby Days, founded in 1934 at the University of California-Berkeley, offers an excellent opportunity for advertising and continued public relations while making a contribution to a deserving cause. Last year we here at Villanova raised just over $10,000 for cancer research. For those of you not familiar with the Huntsman Cancer Institute, it was founded by Sigma Chi brother Jon Huntsman to focus on understanding cancer from its very beginnings and to translate this knowledge into safer and more effective treatments. The Huntsman Cancer Institute is dedicated to finding the causes of cancer, developing new and better treatments, and preventing people from ever developing cancer. The Huntsman Cancer Institute was chosen as Sigma Chi’s preferred philanthropy because cancer has affected so many lives in various different ways. It is the second leading cause of death in the United States. This year, the week will take place between March 18th and 24th at Villanova.