Kappa Kappa Gamma (ΚΚΓ)

kappa kappa gamma

HISTORY

Kappa Kappa Gamma (ΚΚΓ) is a collegiate women's fraternity, which was founded at Monmouth College, in Monmouth, Illinois on October 13, 1870.

The Zeta Iota chapter of Kappa Kappa Gamma at Villanova University was founded November 13, 1982. Starting with 60 women, the chapter has continued to grow and flourish since that day. Becoming a member of Kappa Kappa Gamma is the entering into the bonds of an unwavering support system. Sisterhood is the very essence of Zeta Iota and we have the privilege to wake up every morning knowing that throughout our journey we have Kappa sisters standing by us every step of the way.

One of our bake sales during our 2016 Breast Cancer Awareness Week at Villanova!
One of our bake sales during our 2016 Breast Cancer Awareness Week at Villanova!
You know Kappa by our beautiful fleur de lis!
You know Kappa by our beautiful fleur de lis!
All of our sisters together at our 2016 fall retreat!
All of our sisters together at our 2016 fall retreat!

EXECUTIVE BOARD

POSITION NAME EMAIL
President Julia Martin  jmarti79@villanova.edu
VP Standards Emily Kohlberg ekohlber@villanova.edu
VP Organizations Keely Corscadden kcorscad@villanova.edu
VP Academic Excellence Jenna Coyne jcoyne7@villanova.edu
Treasurer Ally Block ablock1@villanova.edu
Marshall Brooke Magalhaes bmagalha@villanova.edu
Philanthropy Sara Dwyer sdwyer16@villanova.edu
House Maddy Pesce mpesce4@villanova.edu
New Member Maddie Icart micart@villanova.edu
Membership Katherine Kinslow kkinslo1@villanova.edu
Event Lauren Atkins latkins@villanova.edu
Corresponding Secretary Colleen Calpin ccalpin@villanova.edu
Recording Secretary Alex Curley acurly4@villanova.edu
Education Grace Carlin gcarlin2@villanova.edu
Risk Management Leanne Purcell lpurcel3@villanova.edu
Registrar Lauren Callahan lcallah4@villanova.edu
Public Relations Margot Racy mracy@villanova.edu
Panhellenic Delegate Christina Cronin ccronin8@villanova.edu
Panhellenic Delegate Erin Gormley egormley@villanova.edu

PHILANTHROPY

Zeta Iota's philanthropy is Breast Cancer Awareness. Kappa Kappa Gamma supports the BreastCancer.Org Foundation through our fundraising efforts during the fall and spring.  BreastCancer.Org is a nonprofit organization that focuses on having the most reliable, up to date, and helpful information for breast cancer patients. One of their goals is to help both women diagnosed with breast cancer and their families understand the confusing and overwhelming medical/personal information so they can make the best decisions when it comes to treatment for themselves. BreastCancer.Org’s slogan to simply explain this is “Care Before The Cure.” One in eight women will have breast cancer during her lifetime, making this philanthropy extremely close to our hearts. Zeta Iota is committed to doing everything in our power to raise money for BreastCancer.Org, to help keep woman informed and comforted during such a difficult time.

Kappa Kappa Gamma’s national philanthropy is Reading Is Fundamental, Inc. RIF has a mission to build a more literate nation by helping young children discover the joy of reading. The main goal of RIF is to serve the nation's under-served children and families through literacy programs and campaigns that motivate youth to read regularly. As a chapter we support RIF through our annual book drives and reading at local elementary schools. We also make bookmarks during chapters and campus events so that we can share them with the children we read to. RIF has been a fun and fulfilling way for our chapter to get more involved in the local community and is a significant part of Kappa Kappa Gamma's Three Fold philanthropic beliefs.

UPCOMING EVENTS

Late March - Hoops for Hope, proceeds go to BreastCancer.org foundation.
            

ZETA IOTA CHAPTER WEBSITE    •    NATIONAL WEBSITE    •    FACEBOOK     •     TWITTER     •      INSTAGRAM    •    TUMBLR