1999 Distinguished Service Award Recipients

1999 Individual Award

Joe McDonnell, Mendel Science Center

The award was given for the consistent and dedicated service which he has given to the faculty and students over the past thirty-six years. Joe has dealt with a spectrum of problems that is much broader than most of us ever contemplate. It has taken much expertise to maintain the proper functioning of a building as complex as Mendel Hall. Joe has never failed to 'try' to solve every challenge put before him. He is truly deserving of this award.

1999 Team Award

Electronic Reserve Task Force - James L. Mullins, University Librarian and Director, Falvey Memorial Library; Daniel P. McGee, Assistant Director, Instructional Technologies, UNIT; Kathleen O'Connor, Systems Librarian, Falvey Memorial Library; Richard J. Perry, Associate Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering; Evan Radcliffe, Associate Professor of English; Linda Saboe, Supervisor, Reserve Room, Falvey Memorial Library; Donna Shai, Associate Professor

This award recognized this team's efforts to enable the electronic delivery of supplemental course-related information that had only been accessible in print and located only in the Reserve Room of Falvey Library. They worked to analyze, investigate and implement a full-text digital access reserve system. Through the efforts of this team, student can now access supplemental readings from computers in their own rooms.