Faculty Fulbright Opportunities

What is the Fulbright program?

Established in August 1946 through legislation proposed to Congress by Sen. J. William Fulbright, the Fulbright Program is the flagship international exchange program sponsored by the U.S. Department of State’s Bureau of Education and Cultural Affairs.  Since its inception, more than 325,000 participants – Americans and foreign citizens – have been awarded Fulbright grants in an effort to increase “mutual understanding between the people of the United States and the people of other countries” through academic and cultural exchange. Currently, there are approximately 155 countries worldwide where Fulbright operates through partnerships between the U.S. and foreign governments.

While the Fulbright U.S. Student Program is administered by the Institute of International Education, the Council for International Exchange of Scholars (CIES) manages the Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program.

For more information or assistance, please contact Dr. Mike Westrate at michael.westrate@villanova.edu or 610-519-5928.


Fulbright Scholar Opportunities:

(Check website for deadlines, as they vary depending on the program)

For U.S. Scholars and Administrators

For non-U.S. Scholars

For U.S. Institutions


Recent Fulbright Scholars                                                   


Professor Moeness Amin, PhD

Director of the Center for Advanced Communications and professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

2017 Fulbright Distinguished Chair in Advanced (Defense) Science and Technology

Fulbright Distinguished Chair Awards are among the most prestigious appointments in the Fulbright Scholar Program. These awards comprise approximately 40 distinguished lecturing, research, and lecturing/research awards that range from three to 12 month tenures.

Dr. Amin’s Fulbright Distinguished Chair appointment is to the Defense Science and Technology Group (DSTG), Australia. Dr. Amin will spend five months in Adelaide, Australia (Spring 2018). As Chair, he will work in a priority area for the DSTG, and engage with faculty and students through guest lectures and seminars. Dr. Amin will also explore long-term collaborations and institutional linkages.


Irene Kan, PhD

Associate Professor, Psychology

2016-17 Fulbright U.S. Scholar Grant Recipient

Selected for a Fulbright Scholar Award at the University of Toronto, Ontario (Fall 2016) and a Fulbright Visiting Research Chair award at the University of Lethbridge, Alberta (Spring 2017).  


Adriano Duque, PhD

Associate Professor, Romance Languages and Literatures

2016-17 Fulbright U.S. Scholar Grant Recipient

Awarded a research grant to study Muslim-Christian relations in Morocco. He will conduct research for his project titled: “Celebrating John the Baptist: Shared Saint Veneration Among Muslims and Christians in Morocco.”


Tuan Samahon

Professor of Law

2017 Fulbright U.S. Scholar Grant Recipient

Samahon, a professor and scholar in the areas of constitutional law and federal courts, will serve as a Fulbright scholar with the law faculty at the University of Zagreb in Croatia. While in Croatia, Samahon will teach a seminar in spring 2017 on comparative approaches to public administrative law, with an emphasis on transparency.


Past Fulbright Scholars



Paul Steege, PhD

Associate Professor, History

2015-16 Fulbright U.S. Scholar Research Grant Recepient

Hosted by the Center for Contemporary History Research in Potsdam. Dr. Steege conducted research in and around Berlin for his project entitled “Everyday Life, Everyday Violence: Berlin and the Twentieth Century.”   


Susan Mackey-Kallis, PhD

Associate Professor, Communication

2015-16 Fulbright U.S. Scholar Lecture Grant Recepient

Lectured and taught three courses at two Japanese universities. Dr. Mackey-Kallis is an expert in film analysis and commentary and her areas of expertise include the rhetoric of film, women in contemporary cinema and myth in media and culture.


Kim Cahill

Director of the Center for Global Leadership, VSB

2015- 16 Fulbright U.S. Scholar Seminar Grant Recipient   

Participant in the 2015 Fulbright Seminar for U.S. Administrators in International Education in Germany, October 2015.